We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buzzing Atmosphere, Food not up to Expectations”
Review of Campo

Campo
Reserve with OpenTable
Campo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 90 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Buzzing Atmosphere, Food not up to Expectations”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

New restaurant with lots of local advertising. Really nice inside. We had only just arrived that afternoon from LA, flying there from London the night before- so we were tired. Maybe this has an impact on our review? Pizzas were large and looked great. Very salty though and the bottom was quite burned in places on all four pizzas. Drinks arrived after the pizzas. $90 bill- ok for a ski resort.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pageylfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    118
    58
    36
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Crowded”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just another Mammoth Lakes restaurant. Nothing special. It'll probably close in a few years just like its predecessor. The "small" portion of spaghetti and meatballs was actually very large.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 23Feb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Campo 3/22/13”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Our family totally enjoyed there experience and food last Thursday. Wait staff were knowledgeable, knew their products inside and out. I had the meatball pizza, others had spaghetti and meatballs and several other pasta dishes. All were great. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Pgemerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Menu on a diet”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I tried a new restaurant in Mammoth Lakes called Campo during a recent ski trip. I noticed that they had updated the decor and interior from the old days of Hyde Restaurant. I was looking forward to some serious Italian pasta carbs, but told that the pasta menu was not available from Monday through Thursday. OK, on to the lightweight salad entrees. Upon the recommendation of a nearby shopkeeper, I ordered the Kale salad. I was told by the waiter that the concept is to break the egg yolk of the very soft poached egg and let it activate the kale. Sorry, but I don't eat raw eggs, so I removed the egg and put it on the bread plate. When the waiter stopped by, I asked for the check, and went to my favorite standby restaurant Schats Bakery. Sorry Campo, you won't cut the mustard in this resort town. Maybe you can try Hollywood or San Francisco where raw foods are trendy. Best to add pasta back on the menu. Italian and pasta go together-any day of the week.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BonVivant25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mediocre restaurant with a limited menu”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

There are a lot of restaurants in Mammoth Lakes, and many of them are quite good. However, this one barely rises to the level of mediocre. On top of that, the menu is rather limited. On a Saturday night in high ski season, it can be difficult to get a table anywhere. We thought we lucked out by getting in here with a very short wait, but afterwards, we regretted not just ordering a pizza in our condo.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottKeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Campo also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing