We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Can't beat it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiss Chalet Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mammoth Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiss Chalet Bed and Breakfast Inn
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Can't beat it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I go to Mammoth about once a month to once every few months, usually for business. I have stayed in a few different hotels. I just stayed here for two nights. This was a great alternative to a hotel. It is an impeccable house, very nice, comfortable, and quaint but not overdone or too cutesy like some B&Bs. The room is large, and a large beautiful and modern bathroom that inspires me to update my own master bathroom. The bed was great, very comfortable. The breakfasts were wonderful. The owners are good people, and even though this B&B is new, they have been in the hospitality industry for a couple decades - used to own a hotel in town. They know Mammoth very well, they know the community, and they care a lot about the community. I mentioned that I stayed here on a business trip, but I would not hestitate to stay here on a romantic trip either. Great place.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank RonLeiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
36
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Ditto the comments below! I've been meaning to write this review for several weeks, but the return to reality was harsh. We stayed with Sharon and Dave for three of our nine nights in various locations throughout the Eastern and Central Sierra Nevada. The Swiss Chalet is simply first rate. Dave, who did most of the hosting, was the source of many good recommendations that made our stay in the Mammoth Lakes area really fun. Dave's recommendations on everything from restaurants and hikes, including bike trails was spot. They were most accommodating of our dirty mountain bikes, and more than tolerant of my early morning photography outings. Dave cooks a lovely breakfast and accommodates your meal preferences. For example, because we were being quite active we wanted smallish, tasty and healthy breakfasts, and that's what we got. (Because it was so good we ate more than we planned - but this was vacation after all.)

The hot tub on the balcony was heaven, especially after hiking etc. One day we had some left over lunch stuff from earlier in our trip and we sat on the deck eating lunch, having some wine and just watching the light change on the mountains. It does not get more relaxing than this. None of the formality of a hotel or motel. The rooms are truly master suites with tubs and showers with about five heards. (There is also a large walk-in closet in the room.) The bedrooms are beautifully decorated as is the main living area.

The living area has a wonderful seating area with TV, but we had little or no interest in watching TV in these surroundings. Downstairs there is a pool table that was quite inviting, but we did not have the time or desire to play due to our fairly strenous activities during the day and large meals at night.

I'm using the word "accommodate" in its various forms a lot, and I guess that is one of many good words that can be used to describe our stay. We'll definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the west facing room and it had a very nice view/ The east facing room was lovely as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WKinslerPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

What a hidden gem. In August 2012 we found this newly opened Bed and Breakfast run by Dave and Sharon. The room was great, the breakfast delicious and made to order, and the hot tub was fantastic. Dave and Sharon are knowledgeable and very friendly hosts and we envy the guests lucky enough to stay there regardless of the season. There are currently only two bedrooms with beutiful bathrooms so book early.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Sitting here now watching the Olympics, looking out at the mountain and the Sherwins, Dave is pouring me a diet coke. Life is good and this place is wonderful. Headed over to the Bistro which is a 5 minute walk away to eat and hear music shortly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We received a warm and gracious welcome upon checking in with Dave and Sharon at their luxury mountain cabin B&B. Our room was handsome and spacious. The bed was sooo comfortable and the bathroom was well appointed and very clean. Breakfast included such treats as eggs benedict, omelets, or crispy waffles with fresh fruit. Sharon and Dave were very helpful in guiding our outdoor recreational activities. After our hikes we enjoyed relaxing under the stars in the jacuzzi tub on the upper deck.

Room Tip: Well worth the price--don't be fooled by hotels and condos which may seem cheaper but often have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June Lake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is a wonderful place, the location and view are fantasic. The New Swiss Chalet Inn Bed and Breakfast treat you like your a star!

Room Tip: Feels like home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harvjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

This inn is awesome. Relaxing and invigorating are just 2 words to describe it. Coxy and warm surroundings, great hospitality and good breakfast. The area is super and full of year round activities. Definately 5 stars

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#9 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edelweiss Lodge
Edelweiss Lodge
#8 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Swiss Chalet Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 101 Hill Street, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Eastern Sierra intimate getaway, enjoy fly fishing, hiking, biking, climbing or your favorite music festival. Your hosts will provide you with all the local knowledge to insure a fantastic and memorable High Sierra vacation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing