We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mammoth Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiss Chalet Bed and Breakfast Inn
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I go to Mammoth about once a month to once every few months, usually for business. I have stayed in a few different hotels. I just stayed here for two nights. This was a great alternative to a hotel. It is an impeccable house, very nice, comfortable, and quaint but not overdone or too cutesy like some B&Bs. The room is large, and a large beautiful and modern bathroom that inspires me to update my own master bathroom. The bed was great, very comfortable. The breakfasts were wonderful. The owners are good people, and even though this B&B is new, they have been in the hospitality industry for a couple decades - used to own a hotel in town. They know Mammoth very well, they know the community, and they care a lot about the community. I mentioned that I stayed here on a business trip, but I would not hestitate to stay here on a romantic trip either. Great place.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank RonLeiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 54 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Ditto the comments below! I've been meaning to write this review for several weeks, but the return to reality was harsh. We stayed with Sharon and Dave for three of our nine nights in various locations throughout the Eastern and Central Sierra Nevada. The Swiss Chalet is simply first rate. Dave, who did most of the hosting, was the source of many good recommendations that made our stay in the Mammoth Lakes area really fun. Dave's recommendations on everything from restaurants and hikes, including bike trails was spot. They were most accommodating of our dirty mountain bikes, and more than tolerant of my early morning photography outings. Dave cooks a lovely breakfast and accommodates your meal preferences. For example, because we were being quite active we wanted smallish, tasty and healthy breakfasts, and that's what we got. (Because it was so good we ate more than we planned - but this was vacation after all.)

The hot tub on the balcony was heaven, especially after hiking etc. One day we had some left over lunch stuff from earlier in our trip and we sat on the deck eating lunch, having some wine and just watching the light change on the mountains. It does not get more relaxing than this. None of the formality of a hotel or motel. The rooms are truly master suites with tubs and showers with about five heards. (There is also a large walk-in closet in the room.) The bedrooms are beautifully decorated as is the main living area.

The living area has a wonderful seating area with TV, but we had little or no interest in watching TV in these surroundings. Downstairs there is a pool table that was quite inviting, but we did not have the time or desire to play due to our fairly strenous activities during the day and large meals at night.

I'm using the word "accommodate" in its various forms a lot, and I guess that is one of many good words that can be used to describe our stay. We'll definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the west facing room and it had a very nice view/ The east facing room was lovely as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WKinslerPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

What a hidden gem. In August 2012 we found this newly opened Bed and Breakfast run by Dave and Sharon. The room was great, the breakfast delicious and made to order, and the hot tub was fantastic. Dave and Sharon are knowledgeable and very friendly hosts and we envy the guests lucky enough to stay there regardless of the season. There are currently only two bedrooms with beutiful bathrooms so book early.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peggy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Sitting here now watching the Olympics, looking out at the mountain and the Sherwins, Dave is pouring me a diet coke. Life is good and this place is wonderful. Headed over to the Bistro which is a 5 minute walk away to eat and hear music shortly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We received a warm and gracious welcome upon checking in with Dave and Sharon at their luxury mountain cabin B&B. Our room was handsome and spacious. The bed was sooo comfortable and the bathroom was well appointed and very clean. Breakfast included such treats as eggs benedict, omelets, or crispy waffles with fresh fruit. Sharon and Dave were very helpful in guiding our outdoor recreational activities. After our hikes we enjoyed relaxing under the stars in the jacuzzi tub on the upper deck.

Room Tip: Well worth the price--don't be fooled by hotels and condos which may seem cheaper but often have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is a wonderful place, the location and view are fantasic. The New Swiss Chalet Inn Bed and Breakfast treat you like your a star!

Room Tip: Feels like home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harvjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This inn is awesome. Relaxing and invigorating are just 2 words to describe it. Coxy and warm surroundings, great hospitality and good breakfast. The area is super and full of year round activities. Definately 5 stars

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
862 reviews
1.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,183 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
457 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 101 Hill Street, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $150 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Eastern Sierra intimate getaway, enjoy fly fishing, hiking, biking, climbing or your favorite music festival. Your hosts will provide you with all the local knowledge to insure a fantastic and memorable High Sierra vacation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing