We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful walks”

Devils Postpile National Monument
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This obscure part of the National Park System features unique basalt rock formations.
Clare
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful walks”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Myself, my husband and three children thoroughly enjoyed an afternoon at Devil's Postpile. I must have taken 50 photo's, the trees were amazing, there was a field of tree stumps where the trees had been destroyed in a storm, we had never seen anything like it. The waterfall was also lovely, the walk was a bit long for our kids but it was worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sinead C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    194
    75
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A nice walk in the US outback, felt like I could have been a settler going back in time. Makes you think about the hardships they had to endure.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bensonboy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Drive in and out not for the feint hearted”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Really interesting rock formation worth seeing. During the peak summer season access is limited to the tourist bus. We were able to drive there ourselves - and it is an absolute edge of your seat drive along a steep, winding, single lane (but two way) mountain road.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hammo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth the short walk”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you appreciate this type of thing it's worth spending the time to complete the short walk, approx 1 mile from the parking area to see this natural landmark. If you walk further, think it's another two mile, you'll see rainbow falls, also nice to see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lee t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hike, cool geological formation”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We took out dogs on this hike, and had our picture taken at the Postpile. We were dwarfed in comparison. We went during off-season, so we were allowed to drive ourself in, and easily found a place to park. During peak season, only busses are allowed to drive in during themajorityof the daylight hours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devils Postpile National Monument also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Devils Postpile National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing