We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Juniper Springs Resort
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Family of 4 stayed at the Juniper Resort in Mammoth Lake for 3 nights in late June. The resort itself was really quiet (probably the time of the year), but we really enjoyed the tranquility of the place. We booked this resort thinking that it wasn't so far away from Yosemite Park, boy, were we wrong! It took us 4 hours round trip for 2 days. At first, we'd thought that we had made a huge mistake as it was a lot of driving! BUT, it was so worth it. We loved the resort as the room (2 bedroom condo with 2 bathroom and kitchenette) worked out well for all 4 of us. Everything was tidy and clean, we had a beautiful view of the mountains and it was close to restaurants and some other sights. If we hadn't stayed at Juniper, I doubt that we would've wandered out this direction. The resort is close to restaurants (skiing village), so variety of meals was great. I really do recommend this resort, but keep in mind of the distance to Yosemite Park!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank US4toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 910 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

It's an old hotel,old elevator,no air conditioning,in the summer all you can use is a fan and/or open the balcony door. Outside is cool but inside it's awful.

Never got chance to use the resort but resort fee was charged anyway,probably in the winter it's OK.But the hot tub and pool are really small. Like the other reviewer mentioned "however, the fire pits were down, and pools close at 10 so we never got our moneys worth of the 20$ per night resort fee."

Again,probably it's good for winter because its very close to ski carriage,but I will not return for its value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in June. Opted for the 1 bedroom studio, though there were only 2 of us, other reviews said the one bedroom was better.
We had lots of questions after booking and had personal requests. We spoke with Kathy, who was extremely pleasant and helpful.
The rooms were fair. Very quaint and lodge like atmosphere. Fully equipped kitchen, comfy furniture. The bathtub was so deep! Location was nice but I imagine in the winter is when you'd pay for location vlue. Ski lifts and all. For summer it was just okay.
However, the fire pits were down, and pools close at 10 so we never got our moneys worth of the 20$ per night resort fee. But lots of places do that now.
We also were never able to use our inroom fireplace. Someone came to look at it for us, explained theyd be back to fix the broken piece. After almost 2 hours and a propane smelling room, we had things to do. We let the front desk know of the issue, and gave permission for them to enter the room to fix it while we were out.
No one ever fixed it or ever followed up on it. To compensate for that mishap, they gave us a small percent off our last minute night extension. Everyone was pleasant and the place was nice, but for the cost, we won't be staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elinzabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for memorial Day weekend in a new and cozy one bedroom, which had nice features and didn't feel like an impersonal motel. Great kitchen with dishwasher. The bed was very comfortable, and we had an amazing view of the mountains. It would have been nice if there were a little bar or restaurant at he hotel, since its far from town. It also took us forever to get to our room from the lobby, since its such a large hotel. Also, we weren't too happy they charged a $25 daily resort fee that we weren't informed of when we booked it. It wasn't really a 'resort.' It was too cold to swim. We came up to hike in Yosemite, which turned out to be a long drive. Next time we'd stay in town closer to the restaurants and activities. In the winter this place would be great.

Room Tip: Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tabla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, Front Office Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Tabla B-

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your condo and the surrounding views of Mammoth Lakes.

Thanks, Phil K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Friendly staff at the reception desk, comfortable 1-bedroom suite with very personalized decoration which made us fell "like at home".
We stayed in the early summer and enjoyed the views and the peace for hardly more than the price of a motel room. The hotel is located immediately next to the ski lifts. It must be a terrific place to stay at in winter.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank libellule_kd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, Front Office Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear libellule_kd

Thank you for reviewing Juniper Springs Resort. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Mammoth and our wonderful summers. Look forward to seeing you during the winter for some amazing skiing.

Thanks Phil K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was the loveliest stop on our trip. The suite was beautifully appointed, with everything you could possibly need. Great attention to detail, and the decor is very homely. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay any longer!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, Front Office Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Hanelle F-

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is great to here that our Resort felt like your home away from home.

Thanks Phil K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spent the weekend in Mammoth and decided to try this place out. The first night we had a studio which was nice, but we had an issue with the shower head in the shower and the next night they upgraded us to a one bedroom. I would recommend the one bedroom. There is a TV in the bedroom and the living room area. In the studio you could not see the TV from the bed. Both have a kitchen area which is nice. The one bedroom just gives you a little bit more space than the studio. You can run to the Vons up the street and grab groceries so you are not eating out every meal. The rooms are clean. The TV also has a dvd player which is nice if you want to watch movies. I would say the only down side is that there is no air conditioning in the rooms. We were there in the early part of May and it probably only got to 70 degrees during the day, but since there is no air the room was stuffy at night even with the windows open. There is a fan that does help a little.
I will definitely be back. The hotel is nice and well taken care of.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckiandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, Front Office Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear BeckiandJames

Thank you for reviewing Juniper Springs Resort. I am glad that our staff was able to upgrade you to the one bedroom condo and that you were able to enjoy all of our amenities. We are currently working on a ceiling fan project that will help cool the units during our warmer summer months. Thank you, Phil K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
872 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,527 reviews
1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
871 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.3 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juniper Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Springs Resort

Address: 4000 Meridian Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $166 - $625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Juniper Springs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the Mountains at your Front Door. Juniper Springs Lodge, Sunstone and Eagle Run make up Mammoth's premier ski-in/ski-out resort. Located at Eagle Lodge and Eagle Express chairlift, these studio to three bedroom condos and townhomes offer an alpine getaway that is ideal for families. Juniper Springs Resort was recently named one of Conde Nast Traveler's top 50 ski resort properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Juniper Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Springs Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Juniper Springs Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Juniper Springs Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing