We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family ski vacation - but expensive!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Juniper Springs Resort
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Mammoth Mountain is an awesome place for a family ski vacation. The mountain is huge and there are ample trails for all abilities. We were there over February vacation and never waited more than 5 minutes in a lift line. Most of the time we just skied right on to the lift.

We stayed at the Juniper Springs Resort. We had a little bit of an issue our first night. We returned to our room after going out to dinner and found our key didn't work. When we went to inquire at the desk, we were told that that a mistake was made and that the owner was using the condo and we needed to move out. I must admit I was more than a little annoyed. We were not offered any type of "compensation" until my husband complained the next day. They then offered to not charge us the $20/day resort fee. I think they could have done a little more, but at least they did something.

Our 1 bedroom condo was fine; adequate size and comfortable, but not particularly luxurious. The location is certainly convenient, just a few steps to the lift. We had use of a ski locker which added to the convenience. They have an outdoor heated pool and a couple of hot tubs but I have to say they are quite small and did not look all that appealing.

The biggest downside to this place is the price. The 1 bed condo was about $500 a night and the lift tickets are very expensive. Also, they definitely need to improve their cafe/store they have in the lobby. There is close to nothing there and what is there is ridiculously overpriced. ($4.50 for a 12 oz bottle of water)

All in all, we really enjoyed our vacation at Mammoth. The skiing is awesome, the staff at Juniper Springs were very nice and helpful, and the location was very convenient. I would definitely consider going back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitchhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear pitchhazel,
Thank you for your review and your feedback. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay overall. I have noted your other comments and will make sure we make the necessary adjustments needed. Please come visit us again soon.

Peter A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 910 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

The location (right next door to Eagle Lodge) is fabulous, and clearly that is what you are paying for. However, the rooms definitely need upgrading and were a disappointment considering we were paying $500 a night. Despite requesting an upgraded room when I made the reservation, the one I received felt tired and worn (old box TV, stained carpeting, wobbly dining chairs, missing dresser knobs, ripped sofa). Sadly since the location is great, I will try somewhere else next time I'm in Mammoth.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Winnetka75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Winnetka75,
Thank you for your review of Juniper Springs. We do have a few rooms we are currently updating. We hope that your next visit will have in a room with all the comforts would expect from a resort along with our great location.

All the best,

Peter A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

What we thought was one of the nicer resorts in the area, turned out to be overpriced & outdated. The bedroom & bathroom were cramped, room was stuffy, and the cushions on the couch in the living room kept sliding off the couch. This was an upgrade over our first room which smelled of mildew at checkin.
The staff at the only food service choice on property was aloof, not attentive at all. The Daily Grind coffee shop was a joke, not much to offer at a resort of this size.
At over $500 a night, you'd expect people to not let their kids play football in the hallways at all hours, but not so. The walls were paper thin, you could hear all above, below, and in the hallways. The front desk staff obviously accepts this amount of noise from its guests.
I wouldn't suggest staying here unless dorm life or summer camp are of interest to you.
We'll be staying at the Westin next time, and shuttling to the slopes.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sirestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear sirestone,
Thank you for your review and for your candid feedback. We will definitely look into the condition of our furnishing and see what other options we can offer in our coffee shop. We do want our younger guests to have a great time while staying with us but we also have staff 24hrs a day to ensure the comfort of everyone. It is my goal to restore your faith in our product so you can enjoy both our spacious rooms and great location on your future visits.

Truly,
Peter A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Our room/condo (it had a kitchen) was clean & nice, the bed was comfortable, and the location great. We used the ski lockers provided-they were convenient. The staff was very nice and I liked the daily maid service as most area condos do not provide that. The only negative we experienced was the shower head/water pressure was not very strong...but it was adequate. I would we will stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear kgthomas,
Thank you for your review of Juniper Springs Resort. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and our daily housekeeping service. We look forward to your return.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Firstly we paid $2150 for 4 days and received a tired old room, the worst bed sofa, spending $100's to get the knots out of my back and the old school TV set from the 80's, old appliances, and amenities made this room a huge disappointment.

My sons friends Armani prescription glasses were stolen from our room and the management told us its not their problem and disgusted us with the lack of concern. They never offered us an in room safe or offered us any safe storage at check in. But who ever worried about their glasses?

I want anyone who is going to book this property to look at other options. The management here are horrible, house keeping are thief's.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neillibin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Neillibin,
Thank you for your review of Juniper Springs Resort. I have to admit that we do have a couple of our fully furnished units that have not been updated with flat screen TV’s but we are working on addressing in the near future. Please accept my apologies the loss of the Armani prescription glasses. We have successfully returned numerous misplaced articles back to their rightful owners from our lost & found department. We also offer safes to safe keep valuables. We take such matters seriously and as promised we will continue to work on locating your son's friend sunglasses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed Thursday and Friday night, Jan. 24 & 25. Three of us had a 2-bedroom, so we could spread out. It was a good thing because the living room would have been crowded with any more. We had a nice view of the mountain, hot tubs, and pool. I liked the fact that the main bath had a large shower and no tub. (I hate climbing over a tub). Master bathroom has a tub, in case anyone needs it. The living room had a gas fireplace as a heater, and the bedrooms have electric baseboard heaters. We turned them all off and opened the windows when we arrived. We never needed to use the heaters, because the building stays warm. Kitchen was well-equipped. Good thing since there is no restaurant at the facility. We had really good beds, and the place was clean. Each closet included fans, and humidifiers...a nice touch.
I'm not as impressed as others seem to be with the Aveda toiletries. The Rosemary Mint shampoo/body wash made my sunburn & "my boys" tingle, and burn. ;-)
This hotel is not truly ski in/out from what we could see. Maybe with more snow? Even so, the lift is very close.
I would gladly stay here again, although I would look at some of the other areas of Mammoth as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Futuremauian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you Futuremauian for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. While some of our rooms are true to the ski in/out definition, the ski lifts are adjacent to our building as you mentioned and the conditions remain great for skiing/snowboarding. Of course more snow is always a plus.

We look forward welcoming back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We got a 2 bedroom unit which had a pull out sofa in the lounge. It was comfortable but very small with little to no storage space. There was a tiny area to hang 3 ski jackets which left a lot ski gear lying around eg pants, boots etc. The pool and spa facilities were wonderful after a day skiing. Wasn't the ski in/ski out we had in mind but manageable -if you rent skies from eagle lodge rentals they will store your skies overnight so it is only a short walk to the lodge. Unlimited wifi was included but was slow in the room and especially on the weekends ,fortunately high speed wifi was available in the lobby. We would most probably not sty here again mainly due to the small room size. We have stayed at much better quality and better sized accommodation else where.

Room Tip: We got a 2 bedroom room with a pull out sofa-was too small for 5 people for 10days ,might be okay f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2015

Nicky C,

Thank you for the great feedback and we are happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! We do apologize for the slower WiFi speeds during your visit, and we have installed new systems that are much more efficient and faster. We hope to welcome you back again and look forward to seeing you again!

- Juniper Springs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
871 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,525 reviews
1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
871 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.3 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juniper Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Springs Resort

Address: 4000 Meridian Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $166 - $625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Juniper Springs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the Mountains at your Front Door. Juniper Springs Lodge, Sunstone and Eagle Run make up Mammoth's premier ski-in/ski-out resort. Located at Eagle Lodge and Eagle Express chairlift, these studio to three bedroom condos and townhomes offer an alpine getaway that is ideal for families. Juniper Springs Resort was recently named one of Conde Nast Traveler's top 50 ski resort properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Juniper Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Springs Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Juniper Springs Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Juniper Springs Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing