We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Juniper Springs Resort
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Located in a quiet area away from the main village of Mammoth Lakes, in winter this would be fantastic accommodation with the chairlifts up to the ski fields literally next door. In summer, it’s pretty quiet but that’s ok too because the peace of the high Sierra is a joy to behold.

The 2 bedroom condominium was of decent size – both bedrooms had king beds with beds that were fairly high. The pillows, like many hotels, were too soft. The beds themselves were also too soft, we found ourselves with rather sore necks after each night’s sleep. Only 1 iPod dock (of the 2 in the condo) worked – this was disappointing.

We didn’t spend much time in the condo but the little time we did spend was pleasant enough. There is no cooling in the room (not that much was needed) but the bedrooms did get very hot in the evenings with all the appliances turned on even with heating off.

Depending on where you are located in the resort, the WiFi can be very hit and miss – it was fine in the lobby but in our room it was non-functioning.

The car park is reasonable enough but the spaces are quite tight so if you have anything larger than a Camry size car, you ought be careful.

The selection of Aveda toiletries was really nice; you’ll need the moisturiser because the air is very thin and dry there.

All in all, a decent choice if you don’t mind being a little bit away from the main village.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JClasstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 581 of 910 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was our first time to Mammoth Lakes, the resort was really nice. It was clean and the staff was very helpful! After checking in, there was construction going on on the balcony of our room, we called the front desk and they immediately relocated us to another room. It's not a cozy, romatic resort, but it was nice to have the extra space for lounging instead of sitting on a bed in an actual hotel room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

To me, a resort is a vacation spot that has everything you need to enjoy your stay, like restaurants and recreation. Juniper Springs "Resort" is just another individually owned, commercially managed, condo complex. (There were someones personal toiletries in the bathroom- yuck) Recreation consists of one small pool and three hot tubs. Restaurants-none. You have to leave the location or cook your own meals. The restaurants listed on their website are actually at a different lodge that is managed by the same company. The coffee and mercantile shop is a small room at the hotel that has very limited selection and is open for a very limited amount of time. If you stay here, make sure you see the room before you agree. Since all units are individually owned, all units are decorated differently. You could get a very nice unit with granite counter tops and lovely furnishings, or, like us, laminate counter tops and a denim couch. Perfect maybe for a family with toddlers, but not for someone expecting a "resort". We went during the summer. Maybe it's my own fault for not realizing what this "resort" is. But I am wiser now.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turvey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here quite by chance due to a power cut in the hotel booked during a Western Tour, what a great upgrade it was, the rooms were georgous well equipped if you wanted to self cater, and well placed for local amenities. The outdoor pool was lovely and well used. A great short stay,just one night but we really did not want to leave this very pretty place,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

We are very thankful for the wonderful review you posted online of our resort! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with everyone online! We hope to see you again in the future.

- Juniper Springs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I had a great stay. We enjoyed the free shuttle into town. The room was clean and well appointed. We liked that there was a separate bedroom, as opposed to it being a studio apartment, with everything contained in the four walls. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful -- so much so, that we wondered what the desk personnel were doing working there. They seemed way too smart. (Not that working in reception is a brainless job!) Anyway, we'd stay there again if we returned to Mammoth.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Copyedster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My family has gone up to Mammoth the last 2 years scheduling our trip around the Mammoth wine and food festival. We've stayed at Juniper springs both years and liked it very much. We found the accomodations very comfortable & clean. We got a 2 bedroom unit (233) and booked though Mammoth Front Desk which I guess is a seperate management company then the onsite Juniper springs people. The negative to that was we had to pick up our keys at a gas station. Not a huge deal but not quite as convenient as having everything right there. Also, we were leaving and thought we had all our stuff but we left and locked ourselves out. The front desk at the resort doesn't have access to the rooms but thankfully the maintenance guy was there and they were able to verify who we were with the 3rd party management company so we could get my daughter's shoes.

We stayed for 6 nights so we really appreciated the kitchen. We made use of it daily for breakfast and a few times for lunch and dinner. We enjoyed the pool and spas and made use of the BBQ in the pool area a couple of times. I did notice that they had only 1 BBQ this year when there were 2 there last time as I recall.

There was a coffee shop so it seemed but I don't think I saw it opened once. So there wasn't a place to buy anything without taking a drive. Mammoth is small anyway but it was close proximity to places around and the lakes where we did our hiking.

The kids used the game room quite a few times and it was nice to have the DVDs available at the front desk to bring up. I do like being cool at night and the portable AC provided worked fine. That is after we realized the heat had been cranked on in the master BR. We couldn't figure out why it was so hot even though we had the AC right in our room. The heater control was behind the armoire so we couldn't see it had been pushed all the way to the highest setting.

The maid service was typical for a vacation rental, every 2 days I think and they did a good job.

We love mammoth and will be back next summer too. I don't know if we'll stay in that room again but we'll likely stay at Juniper Springs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

There hasn't been information about additional 'resort fee' of approx 20euros ($25). Upon check in, receptionist gave us a paper which we had to sign without any info about this fee. For amount we payed, we could choose something much, much better in Mammoth Lakes. Rooms and corridors were not clean, and furniture (with exception of LCDs) looked outdated. Bed sheets were raptured. Definitely not worth the money and not up to four star hotel standards

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Srdjan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
871 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,525 reviews
1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
871 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.3 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juniper Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Springs Resort

Address: 4000 Meridian Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $166 - $657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Juniper Springs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the Mountains at your Front Door. Juniper Springs Lodge, Sunstone and Eagle Run make up Mammoth's premier ski-in/ski-out resort. Located at Eagle Lodge and Eagle Express chairlift, these studio to three bedroom condos and townhomes offer an alpine getaway that is ideal for families. Juniper Springs Resort was recently named one of Conde Nast Traveler's top 50 ski resort properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Juniper Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Springs Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Juniper Springs Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Juniper Springs Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing