We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable resort, probably more suited to ski season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Juniper Springs Resort
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Comfortable resort, probably more suited to ski season”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Visited the Juniper Springs Resort in Mammoth Lakes in August 2012 as part of a photo tour. The resort is well situated for several national monuments in the area and Mammoth Lakes is still relatively busy during the summer.

I stayed in one of the suites that had a kitchen, dining area, sitting area, bathroom and a bedroom area. With the exception of the bathroom, it's an open-plan room environment. It also had a nice deck to walk out on and sit to enjoy the evening sun.

Only negative marks for the resort:
- the bedroom offered a very tight fit between the bed and the wall where the window is situated
- the climate control facilities didn't work (thermostat seemed disconnected)
- housekeeping had not cleaned out the coffee filter so there was a lovely crust of mold on it
- no onsite restaurant for breakfast

Overall, I would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't overlook the front entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spbutterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    264
    122
    55
    32
See reviews for
375
238
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked a one-bedroom condo (#308) through Mammoth Premiere Properties for a daily rate less than a motel on Main Street, and serviced by them. Pros: Beautiful view with small balcony, Ski to Eagle lift,newer furnishings, equipped kitchen, warm large pool with 3 jacuzzis, barbeque area, small gym, small coffee shop, attractive lobby, elevators, convenient parking, guest laundry, lots of ice, town shuttle stops, near golf course, lots of large pines. Price was about 1/2 of a similar unit two doors down. Cons: No air-conditioning- rooms became stuffy, (a fan was provided, however), no ceiling fans, towels every 3 days - cable was only basic - no ESPN, small bathroom, and Wi-Fi only in the lobby - although we were able to piggyback on their network. We would probably stay there again despite the limitations because the resort is so much more attractive than a modest chain motel accommodation.

The Resort also books through its own site and office - check their prices and amenities.

Room Tip: View rooms overlook the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patriciaroseogden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2012

It was a very nice place to stay. We reserved a spacious condo with a king bed, two twins, and a sofa for our family of five in the middle of August. Pros at this resort would be the nice view every room would get, the comfortable setting of the rooms, and the heated pools/jacuzzi for swimming in the cold weather at night. It also gets a little warm at night, but they provide you with fans so problem solved. One thing is that when we first walked in our room, our tv wasn't working, wires from the tv were scattered, and our balcony door was broken off the hinges. A nice worker coincidentally walking by helped us immediately. One con would be the resort fee of $20/day. They should have included it when we paid online and even if you don't use any of their services (phone, swimming pool, etc.) they still charge you. Overall it was a great stay with a beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

very happy with our stay here

had a newly refurbed room which was very nicely equipped and over looked the pool

guest bbqs nice touch

games room popular with kids

pool a bit small but 3 hot tubs

would definitely stay again

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2016
Thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful review of Juniper Springs Resort! We are very happy to hear that everything was excellent during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

- Juniper Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Despite it being one of the hottest weekends all summer, with no A/C, this resort was great.

Just off the beaten path from the Village, it felt quiet & secluded even though they were sold out.

Air conditioning would have been nice, but the rooms had large windows & doors and the breeze cooled off the room just enough. The elevator & hallways on the other hand were like a sauna...crazy hot even through the night because there was no air flow.

The pool & jacuzzi's were clean, if not over chlorinated, and the common use BBQ's and outside dining areas were a nice feature.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie3690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

SInce our last fiasco at the Village in Mammoth this June ( see my review), we decided to try our luck with Juniper Springs Resort. This was the "Blusablaooza" Beer Fest weekend and had a family gathering planned for the sister-in-law's 50th birthday. We were looking for a 3 bedroom to accomodate eight people. The folks at Junier Springs Resort were very helpful. The price of the room included 3 day passes for the festival, whicin it's self was worth $175. We figured the room only cost about $209 PP, which included the 3 day admission for all 8 of us.
The room was spacious and the two balconies looking out over the valley was a plus. The room was clean and appointed well, as they are privately owned and rented through the Resort. Although the resort was a far piece from "Town", a free shuttle ran every 15 minutes until 10:30 PM, with pick up in the lower parking lot ot the resort. ( very handy). Absent was the loud obnoxious, drunk "party crowd" found in at the Village. This was more family orientated, thus quiet. Everyone in our party enjoyed the Resort. We did not hear any negative comments from the family except at noted below.

The negatives: 1). Parking. We had 8 people with 3 cars. The resort only allows one parking pass and the others had to park in the lower arking lot. One family member is severly handicapped an was given a "move your car or be towed" letter from the resort for parking in a Handicapped space. He had a valid Handicapped sticker. Go figure. I also received a tow letter for parking in a parking spot marked, "Permit Parling Only", whilst having a parking permit issued by the resort hanging from the rear view mirror, in plain sight. Go figure again..
2). Air Conditioning: The hallway of the condo was fully air conditioned, however, the room was like an oven when we checked in. The room contained only ceiling fans, which was marginally effective in this 3rd story condo. I guess the owner does not realize Mammoth does get warm in the summer.

Would I stay there again? Most definitely. We actually stayed there about 10 yeas ago during the winter and thoroughly enjoyed skiing right into the resort entrance from a ski run. You can also buy tickets and hop a ski lift which starts at the resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauisron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review and thank you for giving our property the opportunity to serve you. I apologize that you received a tow letter while parked in the overflow parking. This was not placed on your vehicle by our hotel management. We will pass this along to the security company responsible and let them know that they need to be more diligent while searching for a visible overflow pass. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here from August 1st through 4th. I booked this resort knowing there was no air-conditioning but they provide as many fans as you need. At night, the mountain air was very cool and we all slept well. The resort was clean and our room was very nice. Even though our room was right next to the pool area, people respected the quiet hours after 10:00. To address the $20 resort fee: it seems that many (if not most) resorts now-a-days have a resort fee and I booked this room knowing I would need to pay a fee. If you don't like it, book a different resort. I would say this was a very nice 3-star resort and they try to provide some "4-star amenities". I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone who is coming to this beautiful mountain town!

Room Tip: Ask for extra room fans...the resort is very good about providing them!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HulaMom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a such a positive review of our property. We are very pleased to hear that you will be recommending our resort to your friends and family. For future guests that are reviewing your comments, our resort fees allow us to provide the following amenities: hotel shuttle service for all guests, in-room coffee and tea, free local and toll free calling, business center, movie rentals, game room with WII, Play Station and X-Box and ski and bike storage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
797 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,356 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
820 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.3 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juniper Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Springs Resort

Property: Juniper Springs Resort
Address: 4000 Meridian Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#8 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Juniper Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the Mountains at your Front Door. Juniper Springs Lodge, Sunstone and Eagle Run make up Mammoth's premier ski-in/ski-out resort. Located at Eagle Lodge and Eagle Express chairlift, these studio to three bedroom condos and townhomes offer an alpine getaway that is ideal for families. Juniper Springs Resort was recently named one of Conde Nast Traveler's top 50 ski resort properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Juniper Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Springs Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Juniper Springs Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Juniper Springs Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing