We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chamonix Under new management, and very nice!”

Chamonix Condominiums
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chamonix Condominiums
Reviewed December 13, 2009

I stay frequently at Chamonix, and over the past three years have seen remarkable improvement. The clubhouse, pool and Jacuzzi area has been completly remodeled, and the new management company keeps the place clean and the snow plowed.

I stay in the same unit time after time because it was recently remodeled. Not all the owners in Chamonix have remodeled their individual units, but the ones that have been remodeled are very nice - be sure to ask when the unit was remodeled, and take a close look at the photos. I always ask for Unit 19, and I book it through 101 Great Escapes.(Chamonix discountined their on site rental program, so now you need to book through a variety of agencies, so rates and level of service varies from unit to unit).

My kids and I always walk to the lifts at Canyon Lodge. Because Chamonix is so close to the lifts, people who are not staying there try to park there and walk to Canyon Lodge. I did see some cars that did not have parking passes get towed. There was always a space for me to park, and the lot was always plowed.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MammothGirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 22 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2008

By looking at their web site you would think here is a moderately priced nice enough looking little condo complex that would be perfect for a winter weekend getaway. Think again people !
The first lie they will tell you is that Chamonix is a mere 200 yards away from the canyon lodge chair lifts and easily walkable . In reality it is closer to 1000 yards up a hill. I'll put it this way , an Olympic athlete would be challenged to do this trek wearing ski boots and carrying gear let alone the average weekend skier with kids in tow. If you are thinking we will just drive to the lift keep in mind that you will not find a parking spot within a mile of the lift after 8 am.
Secondly once you walk in the door of your run down unit you will be treated to a 20 year old television that only gets about half of the channels clearly and remote controls that don't work. You will turn on the antiquated , noisy heater that will give you an 85 degree room or a 20 degree room. Nothing in between ! When you decide to give up on all of that and just go to bed you will be delighted to snuggle up on filthy , old urine stained blankets and comforters that have clearly never been washed.
The people that run this property management company , Central reservations of Mammoth are very nasty and unapologetic but very quick to tell you that if you violate any of their prison like rules such as not taking out your garbage or having an extra guest in your unit they will do anything from fine you hundreds of dollars to having you arrested(for the unexpected guest)
There are plenty of great places to stay in beautiful Mammoth lakes. Do yourself a favor and don't even consider this one ! I would recommend sleeping in a tent over Chamonix or dealing with Central Reservations of Mammoth.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vinnydginni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralresofmammoth, Owner of Central Reservations of Mammoth at Chamonix Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2009

We are very surprised to hear of your disappointment with our rental services! We are consistently known for our excellent customer service skills and would love to further discuss your experience with our company. Unfortunatly we have just come across your review nearly a year later but would love to speak with you regarding your stay. Please contact us at 800-321-3261 or by email at reservations@mammothlakes.com. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

We decided to head up to Mammoth a few days before New Year's Eve. We
knew that the Mountain was going to be very busy and that we would be lucky to get a place at all. We called Mammoth Reservations and they had one spot open at Chamonix. It was a large unit. More than we needed and the location was great. Walking distance to Canyon Lodge. While the complex is nice, the unit we were given was so old and dated. Didn't feel clean, tacky interior. Completely depressing. I hear other units are much nicer so be sure to ask what you are getting. They still charged us holiday rates for this dump! Basically
we were paying over $400 a night for a parking spot! We did try to move but the mountain was sold out. It would have been nice to get a discount. I guess this is what happens when you book last minute during the holdays. YUCK!

Stayed: January 2008
4  Thank mattmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

Booked Chamonoix Condo through Austria Hof Hotel. The condo was remodeled and like new. The clubhouse was also remodeled with new saunas, spas, billards and foosball. Short walk to Canyon lodge. Everyone was friendly, and sevice was great.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank carmel92672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

This was an absolutely AMAZING Condominium Complex!!!

Beautiful pool, many spas, and a sauna! It was very family oriented too, with a video game room for the kids, a business center with wireless internet, usable in the condos, and an Adult Room, with a fireplace, wide screen TV, and large couch.

Also, the rooms themselves were very top notch, with nice fireplaces, cozy lofts, and comfortable bedrooms.

To add to the experience, the Condos are only a two or three minute walk from the mountain...

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Matthewww333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Anaheim, Ca.
1
Reviewed October 15, 2005

The snow was awesome. The lodge is walking distance to the lifts. The management did an excellent job clearing the recent 10 feet of snowfall. The spa was clean, the people friendly. We loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Orange County
15
Reviewed February 8, 2005

Stayed at Chamonix from Sat. through Thurs. nights. in Jan. 2005. Reservation company charged WEEKEND (rather than custumary WEEKNIGHT) rate for Sunday, saying we "split the weekend" so Sunday was a weekend rate. We have stayed at Chamonix for the past 5 years and have never been charged a weekend rate for a Sunday night. Also their booking fee doubled from last year (now $30). We won't be going back to Chamonix.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.2 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,543 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
878 reviews
2 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,198 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.8 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamonix Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamonix Condominiums

Address: 803 Canyon Blvd., Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $151 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chamonix Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chamonix Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamonix Condominiums Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing