We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“overall decent hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenhof Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alpenhof Lodge to your Saves list
Alpenhof Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6080 Minaret Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Anaheim, California
1 review
“overall decent hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

I researched several hotels in the area and Alphenhof was one of the most affordable. It is located across the street from the free gondola to Mammoth Mountain for skiing and also The Village Shops including ski pass/rental office. The hotel was clean, warm, and had hot showers (although the temperature varies from hot to very hot so be careful). The continental breakfast is minimal but does include small cake donuts, toast, single serve packages of oatmeal, orange juice, hot cocoa, tea, coffee, and some fresh fruit. The indoor jacuzzi was appreciated although it is so strong the water splashes up into your nose!! Dry sauna nice too. OUr sheets were not changed during our 4 day stay - we know this because there was a small stain on the sheet. My only major complaint about this hotel is that they do nothing to remove ice in the parking lot - they should put non slip material such as sand to help patrons get in and out carefully. My husband who is very fit slipped and fell...thank goodness he was not hurt. Do not wear ski boots - it is very treacherous!!! I would not stay here again most likely - I would try other lodges/motels located nearby in June Lake area and drive to the ski resort (since walking with ski boots is so uncomfortable/dangerous.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle29092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    103
    44
    20
    11
See reviews for
65
102
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
k2astaar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

My dad and I stay at this hotel every year. The location couldn't be better - it is directly across the street from the gondola and next door to a delicious burger joint.

There's not much impressive about the Alpenhof, but it is clean and consistent. (All that really matters in my opinion). The beds are comfortable enough, nothing spectacular. There's always hot water and clean towels. I remember the rooms as being a bit drab, but what difference does it make in the long run? We always enjoy our stay, and often spend evenings in the room reading or talking.

It is nice that there are a few things offered for breakfast in the mornings (but not much). There's a microwave in the lobby that we make the most of, as well as a computer in the lobby, although sometimes there is a wait to use it, and it's not at a desk, you have to stand to use it. But it keeps me in touch with my email.

If you're a flexible traveler, the Alpenhof is great. If you prefer luxury or special amenities, this might not be your best bet.

The main reason we choose the Alpenhof is location. We love that once we get there, we don't have to deal with driving OR with the bus system. We walk to the gondola, and walk to the Village for meals (which is also directly across the street, as the gondola is in the village).

I just made reservations for this year, and I am looking forward to having a room with a fireplace for the first time.

The staff are always nice and pleasant, but nothing over the top.

Stayed January 2010
Helpful?
Thank k2astaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed here three nights on our last trip to Mammoth. The staff was friendly and helpful. Given it was off season our rate was reduced dramatically from the normal going rate. The room was uber clean, no nasty febreze in use here! We used the spa tub the first night. Nice and clean. The following day they had emptied and scrubbed it out for the next day. Chatted with the owner who was around for the whole visit. Nice guy. All around friendly and comfortable place to hang your hat while visiting Mammoth

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherpasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We came into Mammoth Lakes en route to Vegas after we hiked in Yosemite. It was Saturday night, we had no reservations in any place, found no vacancies in Lee Vining, and came to Mammoth Lakes somewhat desperate. After we've been through 2 or 3 hotels which jacked prices up in compared to the rates they published at their sites, we came here. Here, not only the prices were decent, but the staff actually took off $20 because it was a very late check-in, so we ended up getting a great room for $90 in the weekend.

The guy at the counter said that they have a "very basic breakfast", and we were pleasantly surprised with fresh juice, hot chocolate, donuts and fruits - unlike places that advertise coffee as "continental breakfast". Also, they let us do a late check-out for free (1PM instead of 11AM).

Also, there is a nice bar downstairs, which remained open when everything else in town was closed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srulix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

It could have been worse, but I dont know how. I think I was in the smallest room possible, they had the dates messed up, wrong month,the hot water for showers didnt work very well, low pressure. price was ok, at best. for a few bucks more, I could have stayed at a much more modern place. I will never recommend or stay here in this life, again

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BDFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Can't believe the bad reviews on this website. We found this to be an excellent hotel. Huge rooms with a massive bed, large tv and fridge. Excellent location right opposite the gondola. Free donuts, muffins, hot chocolate, etc...Easy walking distance to other bars and restaurants for breakfast and dinner. The restaurant located in the hotel is especially good. Ski-ing was amazing - we went in April and had 3 foot of snow in one night!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire-Clinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

The location is excellent. It is next to the gondola village, so we can walk there in our snowboard boots. Breakfast was very limited and house keeping forgot to clean our room.
Standard room is cozy and front desk staff is friendly. It may be hot in summer especially no A/C in room, All in all, good value for the location.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wnoppamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
3.0 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 1,076 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#8 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Lodge

Property: Alpenhof Lodge
Address: 6080 Minaret Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpenhof Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Mammoth just across the street from the Village at Mammoth. Steps to the Village Gondola for access to Mammoth Mtn. Ski Area during the winter months and less than an hour away from the gates to Yosemite via Tioga Pass in the summer months. Amenities include free WI-FI, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, jacuzzi and sauna (winter) and outdoor swimming pool (summer only). We offer a variety of room types, from Single Queen or King rooms to 2 bedroom cottages with kitchens, to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alpenhof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing