We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Alpenhof Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpenhof Lodge
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Alpenhof is right across the street from the main village and near free public transportation stops to get you around the rest of the area. The accommodations are adequate, clean, and the staff is friendly. They have a Jacuzzi, sauna, and free continental breakfast included. The bar and the bistro were very popular during the week I was there (President's week).

For skiers and snowboarders, the village gondola takes you to the slopes so no packing up the car and finding parking. The room I was in had racks \ holders for your equipment. The front desk will also hold your bags if you want to squeeze another day on the slopes on the day you check out. The shuttle from the airport (MMH) takes about 10-15 minutes with no curvy mountain driving. If you make reservations for the shuttle with the front desk, you get a discounted rate.

This was my first trip to Mammoth, it won't be my last...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henrykim_sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 377 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Wow we stayed last year and loved it but this year was even better!! Upgraded rooms and breakfast is now included for such a great price.
We love staying in this hotel it has the best location in town walking distance from the gondola, best restaurant in Mammoth Petra’s and best fun bar Clock Tower....even better are the friendly accommodating staff that couldn't do more to help make our stay better. We always stayed at the Sierra Lodge Nevada before but would definitely recommend the Alpenhof We look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: 104 loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for choosing to come back to the Alpenhof again! We are still working on additional renovations, so we'll have more new things in store for your next visit....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

If you are down to ski/snowboard then Alpenhof is your place. You can't beat the location for the price - not only are you directly across the street from the Village Gondola, but one of the town's best bars and restaurants (Clocktower and Petras) are right there as well. It's also right next door to the Village if you want to explore a bit further.

What I love most about staying at the Alpenhof is 1) the friendly staff (who will do practically anything to ensure you enjoy your stay), and 2) NO UPCHARGES. It seems like so many other hotels and lodges these days are charging for parking, charging for internet... what I paid booking my room on Travelocity is what I paid out the door. True, the rooms aren't exactly swanky at Alpenhof, but they are on par with your average Embassy Suites room - just a little more Old World vibe. For the most part have the same amenities (coffee maker, TV (flatscreen!), free breakfast). Best of all, I ended up staying for five nights in a killer king bed room w/ fireplace for what I would have ended up paying two nights across the street in the Village. That's money that goes directly back into lift tickets, beers, meals, gas - all my other expenses!

Room Tip: Cabin 4 is awesome! It has a cabin-esque look and feel, complete with a cozy fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattypbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Room 4 is one of our favorites! So glad you were able to enjoy it for an extended stay. Our staff is looking foward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband have been going to Mammoth for 3 consecutive years, usually during the summer time (first week or two in July). Though Mammoth is most well known for its' incredible skiing and biking spots, my husband and I are the types to take in nature, go on hikes, kayak, etc., as well as, eating good food and exploring the town. Alpenhof Lodge puts you pretty much right in the middle of all of this without the high prices. The Alpenhof is conveniently located across the street from the Village at Mammoth, where you can go stroll the shops, the bars and restaurants. You can also take the gondola to the Mountain from here too! Besides its' convenience, you can stand in the parking lot or at the top of the stairs right outside the reception/lobby area and take in the view of the amazing tree line and mountains. The rooms are clean and have a cabin-like feel. They are a little outdated as far as furnishings go, but this is miniscule compared to your location and the close proximity to everything! The staff is wonderful! So accomodating and very knowledgable about the area and all the events going on in town! They even helped me plan my trip out to Mammoth the first 2 times! Definitely recommend staying here! Also, make sure to experience the Blue Sky Festival...literally right down the street from the Alpenhof in the middle of the woods, where all types gather to drink and listen to some awesome music under the stars! Amazing trip every time, thanks to Alpenhof!

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing out towards the pool...not the best view, but it's more convenient for when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lfletcher911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are excited for the upcoming summer season and all of the events that will be happening near us in the Village, at Sam's Woods Site and at Canyon Lodge. There seems to be somethign happening every weekend starting in July thru mid-September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

After checking at after midnight for the first time, it was awesome and refreshing to enjoy a relaxing breakfast next to the first in the lodge dining room. Quality food, comfortable couch, warming fire…a great way to start my day before hitting the slopes!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillyBnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Glad to hear you enjoyed our NEW breakfast!! From here on out we will continue to serve our complimentary continental breakfast, just off the lobby, in Petra's Bistro. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed one night here between Christmas and New Years 2012. We would have stayed longer but the hotel was fully booked. Our room was number 20 at the very end. It was quiet, very spacious and the bed was comfortable. We paid $247 with all taxes and fees during the high 'holiday' season. Compared to what some of the other places were charging during this season we thought it was good. There were at least two structures we could see, to get to our room, you walk along an exterior hallway. Some of the rooms had fireplaces, ours did not which was fine with us. Attached to the hotel is a wonderful restaurant called Petra's I would recommend highly and across the street is 'the village' with a number of restaurants to choose from. It is just a short drive up to mammoth ski lodge and a good choice when skiing at Mammoth Mountain. I think the skiing was even better than Tahoe, there were so many runs to choose from and the snow is good this season.

Room Tip: most of the rooms seemed cozy and rustic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippin_maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed in the 2-story "back" lodge. It was in the 90s F and the room had no AC. DO NOT STAY HERE IN SUMMER! The 1 portable fan didn't help. There is a back door that did NOT open! Front door needs a screen door for air and to keep bugs out. Very hot all day and night. The room was very dark. Manager: you need to put in some more lamps and fix the back doors so they open for air! This motel has been way too noisy the past 2 years. Too many loud drunks at Petras/Clocktower- screaming all night, smoking, trashy people. This is a good motel for winter though because the village and village gondola are across the street.

Room Tip: Don't stay here in summer! Too hot, no AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SkiSandLLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
3 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,546 reviews
1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
881 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
464 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Lodge

Address: 6080 Minaret Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $108 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpenhof Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Mammoth just across the street from the Village at Mammoth. Steps to the Village Gondola for access to Mammoth Mtn. Ski Area during the winter months and less than an hour away from the gates to Yosemite via Tioga Pass in the summer months. Amenities include free WI-FI, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, jacuzzi and sauna (winter) and outdoor swimming pool (summer only). We offer a variety of room types, from Single Queen or King rooms to 2 bedroom cottages with kitchens, to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpenhof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing