We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hotel in stunning location”
Review of Alpenhof Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpenhof Lodge
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Cosy hotel in stunning location”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon tour in September. We arrived here exhausted after a 7 hour drive from Las Vegas and were delighted to find a clean, cosy family run hotel set in stunning surroundings. The hotel owner is extremely helpful and friendly with lots of ideas about how to get the most from a brief visit to Mammoth. A basic complimentary continental breakfast is provided which is a lovely touch! The surrounding mountains and lakes are just breathtaking and our stay here was one of the highlights of our honeymoon! Great little hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 171140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    144
    57
    22
    11
See reviews for
89
144
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in! We had driven 12 hours that day so we were tired and drove up to this hotel feeling exhausted. Stupidly paid for a room on the third floor, sight unseen. We began carrying our luggage upstairs since there was no elevator and just could not believe the condition of this place: old, shabby, ugly, and NO air conditioning!! They had placed a fan at the top of the stairs which was blowing stale hot air in our faces as we walked up. It was around 90 degrees in our room and had no air circulation at all. They provided an old fan which helped a little. Our window was tiny and set deep into an alcove so provided no relief.
The clerk at the front desk spent most of his time making personal calls on his cell phone which looked very unprofessional.
The entire building should be demolished...the best thing I can say about the Alpenhof Lodge is that the sheets were clean.
We could not wait to leave the next morning.

Room Tip: Avoid this place if at all possible. Do not stay in the 3 story part of the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneSJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon. The hotel is very dated really needs an update and was a little bit surprised that it is a virgin hotel. However for a short visit ( I would not like to stay any longer than 2nights) it is fine, the rooms are clean and although there isn't air conditioning there is a fan in the room. I wouldn't use the pool -it was tiny and appeared to be used by a playgroup? The most surprising element of the place was the breakfast area, it is part of the lobby, just a couple of chairs, if you don't manage to get one of these you have to stand and attempt to eat your breccy from flimsy paper plates, don't try to spread your toast using the plastic knives, they're so bendy it's just impossible. Ok for a stop over, although mammoth itself is beautiful did the devils postpile which was one of the highlights of our holiday- outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazza57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Not much expected from this hotel, but was actually very nice. Austrian looks, due to the winter sports area and the sign "Wilkommen" above the door. Delicious eaten in Italian in the mall at Old Mammoth Road (the one with Vons supermarket). Pool is small. Good beds.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We landed back in Mammoth Lakes after attempting the John Muir trial. After 5 days of mosquito attacks and my tough spill on our way back, my husband (and hero) found this lovely spot for us to re-group. We had a large fireplace suite at a VERY reasonable price. Two TV's, great bathroom, refreshing pool and hot tub. After two night nights here we hated to leave. Nice little continental breakfast and most helpful staff.

Room Tip: On the ground floor of the 'motel' rooms, we could hear the activities of our upstairs neigb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Me and a friend attended the Mammoth Festival of Beers & Bluesapalooza last weekend and stayed here for the weekend. Not only is it in a Perfect location to both the festival and village (both walking distance), it has a pretty cool European flair to it as well and lights up nicely at night.

That said the shower head was broken but there was plenty of hot/cold water and after long days, a bath was a better call anyway to rest my weary bones. Upon checkout the credit card machine had apparently gone offline the day before and there was some complications verifying my payment which was placed the day earlier. I had the receipt so it was no biggie. The staff was very friendly and I have no clue about the breakfast... we slept in.

All in all; their cellar pub was great, the restaurant right next door called Burgers was absolutely excellent, the village about a minute's walk away was fantastic boasting excellent coffee shops and an authentic Irish Pub (The Auld Dubliner) and the festival just down the road via a 5-minute walk rocked hands down.

I would recommend this hotel for the location alone and as long as your not the uptight type who has to have everything your way, you'll be fine. BTW, the price of $109/night was very reasonable too given the huge festival taking place that weekend... they could have charged a lot more.

Cheers

Room Tip: Keep your receipt just in case. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjaminCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

There were several of us who stayed there and the sales manager was very helpful not only with the arrangements but also the price.
Most had regular hotel rooms, but there were also cabins which is where I stayed. The kitchen was very functional, it wasn't fancy but I liked the accommodation. The only drawback was my bed was rather lumpy, but we stayed there five nights so I got through that part okay.
One thing, don't put any weight on their continental breakfast. It really is nothing much more than your hostess donuts, coffee and juice. They also had some fresh fruit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
797 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,351 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Lodge

Property: Alpenhof Lodge
Address: 6080 Minaret Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpenhof Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Mammoth just across the street from the Village at Mammoth. Steps to the Village Gondola for access to Mammoth Mtn. Ski Area during the winter months and less than an hour away from the gates to Yosemite via Tioga Pass in the summer months. Amenities include free WI-FI, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, jacuzzi and sauna (winter) and outdoor swimming pool (summer only). We offer a variety of room types, from Single Queen or King rooms to 2 bedroom cottages with kitchens, to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpenhof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing