We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Secluded” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cinnamon Bear Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint and Secluded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We couldn't have asked for a better place to "get away from it all." You can tell that the Inn has been around for awhile as the building itself could use a little "TLC", however, it was clean and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The innkeepers were very personable and very accommodating and made you feel as though you were part of a larger family. It was obvious that they enjoy what they are doing and care about their guests. We will definitely stay here again as the inn itself is very close to several awesome restaurants.

Room Tip: The upper suite we stayed in was quiet and charming with a bedroom view of the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    103
    45
    15
    12
See reviews for
59
137
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It is not a fancy place but it was clean and quiet. The location is good for access to the Jazz Jubilee which is what we were there for. There is plenty of parking, the hosts were extremely friendly and accommodating. They served a homemade breakfast every morning which was a nice respite from your standard hotel fare. Will definitely stay here next time we are in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

What a little gem we stumbled upon. A last minute trip decision to go to mammoth landed me and my girlfriend here on a whim. Better rates than even motel 6 in town!!!

Now, for those not familiar with mammoth, almost all the buildings in town are old, unless you are staying at the village which is $$$$. That stated the building being old is not a detractor what so ever, it gave the Cinnamon Bear some awesome character. The room was awesome, super clean, super comfy, and quite big! The staff / manager were simply amazing, I mean come on a hot breakfast plate every morning (you don't even get that at the village)!!! A hot tub and wifi to boot. A very homey cozy feel and all around cool place. I enjoyed my stay here more so than staying at the village hotel to be honest.

Literally the only thing that the room didnt have was a small fridge... but in the winter just leave your extra slice of pizza in the car!

This will be my go to place from now on when going to mammoth!

Thanks Cinnamon Bear,
Ben H

Room Tip: Room 14 was awesome, back entrance allowed you to park on the side of the building and have a person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nd4spdbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My family and I stay at the Cinnamon Bear Inn pretty often: once or twice a season for the past 3-4 years. They're perfect for us. First off, excellent location in the center of town. Good free parking spaces for all your utility vehicles packed with mountains bikes or skis/boards. Next: overall good vibe. Both from the managers, especially Rachel Rae + hubby who are down to earth, friendly, knowledgeable, outdoor types and helpful like crazy (from getting an object stuck under the bed, to recommending where to eat and giving us vouchers). Also good vibe from the other people that stay there, from the families to the sports kids, who all come together for the Cinnamon Bear's home-style breakfast (served HOT everyday from 7 to 9. Once we were late and Rachel called our room at 9 to ask if we're coming to see if she should keep our breakfast on the stove for us. Like said, nice folks.) It's also fun to meet other guests from 5-8 in the main lodge when the Management sets out free coffee, tea, salsa, chips, mini cupcakes, etc in front of the fireplace. Very cosy atmosphere, this is where the ski/snow talk happens in a good season.
Rooms/amenities: They're not glitzy, and we're not picky. (But I hear the rooms are getting renovated slowly - suite 17 is being refurbished this season!). We've stayed in 4 to 5 different rooms over the years, and in every room or suite there is a great old-fashioned gas-fireplace which works extremely well. The towels are fluffy and plentiful. The general level of cleanliness is fine. It's true that you can hear upstairs occupants, and that the wifi is basically only in the main lodge not in the individual rooms (but I hear that might be upgraded!). All in all, this is our place of choice, and we're looking forward to coming back next year too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I rented two rooms over the holiday season and my husband aptly described it as a Motel trying to be a Bed and Breakfast. There is so much work that needs to be done in this motel, carpets need cleaning, painting, fans and much more. This is a tough review because I believe the Cinnamon Bear Inn is a product of the recession and needs a lot of capital to be invested before it gets anything higher than three stars. There are some basic changes that could have been made, moving the ugly trash cans from the walkway and outside the room, a better breakfast and more insulation so that you do not hear when the upstairs room turns on its bathroom fan.
One positive note, the staff were lovely people.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank My_Lady_of_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I'll start with the good parts...very comfortable bed. I'm a horrible sleeper and actually slept great for 4 days despite the snowboarding aches, pains and bruises. Great closet space. Old school heater/fireplace thing was cool and worked phenomenally well. Good location. Breakfast was small, average on selection and taste, and very family-kitchen-ish.

Now what makes it "meh". It's old and creaky. If you stay downstairs, be prepared to hear every footstep, every laugh, every cough, every muffled conversation all night. The decor and furniture is also very dated. It smells like a dead animal outside the front office...but there very well could be one in the woods behind it. The hot tub is small...and, well, you couldn't pay me to go in it.

Overall, it was okay. It is so very reasonably priced that I might stay there again when the Westin jacks up their rates on holidays. If you like old style B&B or family owned motels, you will probably like this place.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PJLoEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have stayed here twice and had a great experience both times. The managers are very helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is always delicious! I recommend visiting during the winter because I love the snow!! but it is beautiful in Mammoth all year round.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kacit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.8 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#8 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Bear Inn

Property: Cinnamon Bear Inn
Address: 113 Center Street, US 395 north to Hwy 203 Exit, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cinnamon Bear Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Cinnamon Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Bear Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing