We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice place.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cinnamon Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cinnamon Bear Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

My family and I stay at the Cinnamon Bear Inn pretty often: once or twice a season for the past 3-4 years. They're perfect for us. First off, excellent location in the center of town. Good free parking spaces for all your utility vehicles packed with mountains bikes or skis/boards. Next: overall good vibe. Both from the managers, especially Rachel Rae + hubby who are down to earth, friendly, knowledgeable, outdoor types and helpful like crazy (from getting an object stuck under the bed, to recommending where to eat and giving us vouchers). Also good vibe from the other people that stay there, from the families to the sports kids, who all come together for the Cinnamon Bear's home-style breakfast (served HOT everyday from 7 to 9. Once we were late and Rachel called our room at 9 to ask if we're coming to see if she should keep our breakfast on the stove for us. Like said, nice folks.) It's also fun to meet other guests from 5-8 in the main lodge when the Management sets out free coffee, tea, salsa, chips, mini cupcakes, etc in front of the fireplace. Very cosy atmosphere, this is where the ski/snow talk happens in a good season.
Rooms/amenities: They're not glitzy, and we're not picky. (But I hear the rooms are getting renovated slowly - suite 17 is being refurbished this season!). We've stayed in 4 to 5 different rooms over the years, and in every room or suite there is a great old-fashioned gas-fireplace which works extremely well. The towels are fluffy and plentiful. The general level of cleanliness is fine. It's true that you can hear upstairs occupants, and that the wifi is basically only in the main lodge not in the individual rooms (but I hear that might be upgraded!). All in all, this is our place of choice, and we're looking forward to coming back next year too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    111
    51
    21
    13
See reviews for
60
160
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I rented two rooms over the holiday season and my husband aptly described it as a Motel trying to be a Bed and Breakfast. There is so much work that needs to be done in this motel, carpets need cleaning, painting, fans and much more. This is a tough review because I believe the Cinnamon Bear Inn is a product of the recession and needs a lot of capital to be invested before it gets anything higher than three stars. There are some basic changes that could have been made, moving the ugly trash cans from the walkway and outside the room, a better breakfast and more insulation so that you do not hear when the upstairs room turns on its bathroom fan.
One positive note, the staff were lovely people.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank My_Lady_of_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I'll start with the good parts...very comfortable bed. I'm a horrible sleeper and actually slept great for 4 days despite the snowboarding aches, pains and bruises. Great closet space. Old school heater/fireplace thing was cool and worked phenomenally well. Good location. Breakfast was small, average on selection and taste, and very family-kitchen-ish.

Now what makes it "meh". It's old and creaky. If you stay downstairs, be prepared to hear every footstep, every laugh, every cough, every muffled conversation all night. The decor and furniture is also very dated. It smells like a dead animal outside the front office...but there very well could be one in the woods behind it. The hot tub is small...and, well, you couldn't pay me to go in it.

Overall, it was okay. It is so very reasonably priced that I might stay there again when the Westin jacks up their rates on holidays. If you like old style B&B or family owned motels, you will probably like this place.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PJLoEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have stayed here twice and had a great experience both times. The managers are very helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is always delicious! I recommend visiting during the winter because I love the snow!! but it is beautiful in Mammoth all year round.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kacit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I spent 1 night at the Cinnamon Bear B&B on our way back home from Lake Tahoe. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The managers seem to be vey pleasant and were very accommodating to all our needs.

Room Tip: Room close to the Main House
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum
Level Contributor
128 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed in August for 1 night. Arrived late but the owner left the key in a box which was great. Rooms are quite nice, small but VERY LOUD. You can hear everything that other people talk or do in their rooms. Paid 138 $ for 1 night- too expensive but normal for the area.
Slept well but the beds are very soft. Cleanliness could be improved in the rooms.

Had the breakfast which was just OK, nothing really special but included in the rate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkwetina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Arrived at 7.30 at night and were happily accommodated in a queen room. In keeping with the building and common areas it was very cosy and homely, whilst also being clean and well-appointed. The bed was particularly comfortable. The hot tub is great for cool mountain nights. The homemade breakfast was also very good and provided ample sustenance for the day ahead. There is nothing really to criticise - it is not luxurious or high-end, but is a lovely B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmaffchc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.8 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpenhof Lodge
Alpenhof Lodge
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Bear Inn

Property: Cinnamon Bear Inn
Address: 113 Center Street, US 395 north to Hwy 203 Exit, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cinnamon Bear Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cinnamon Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Bear Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing