We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Was Optimistic, But Disappointed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar

Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
200 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Was Optimistic, But Disappointed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I had high hopes for this coffee house given the rave reviews on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, my mocha was only average. It was made with powdered chocolate and overpoweringly chocolately. They do serve drip coffee, which seemed to attract the largest purchasers when I was there. Also, I've noticed a trend in Northern California where they only serve one size of coffee, the equivalent to a tall.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MSandersCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    13
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a great place for those that enjoy great coffee! The decor is simple, clean and sophisticated like the coffee. There was a group of five us so we had to wait for everyone's drinks, but it was worth it. Each cup of coffee is handcrafted and that takes a few minutes, but who doesn't need to take a few minutes to sit back and relax. I would definitely go back if I was in the area again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 781sarahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing coffee house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful and modern, this place is a breath of fresh air in Mammoth. Because I'm vegan, I normally order soy lattes and they don't carry soy but do carry almond milk. I gave it a try and wow....the flavor, the heart shape in the foam and the richness was unbelievable!!! This place is a must.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nedarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great cup of brew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great coffee, little slow because each cup is hand crafted, so it is nice to slow down and enjoy it..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sierra Nevada R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Coffee, Best in Mammoth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This spot has the best coffee in Mammoth that I tried. It is fresh ground pour over coffee made upon order. There is no burnt taste. People are generally use to the burnt and over-brewed coffee rather than the true flavour.

The atmosphere is minimalistic, but that is fine with me. Great wood furnishings. Staff was friendly and nice. Do not have much food offerings, but what I had was really good. Free wifi.

It would be nice to have a larger size for coffee, but that can be the only complaint.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar also viewed

 

Been to Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing