We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Coffee” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar

Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for morning coffee. Interesting place, a little bit stark and open but the coffee was very good.

Helpful?
Thank mile262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    15
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A bit Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Now don't get me wrong, I had a perfectly fine cup of coffee, but the best? No.
Atmosphere a bit sterile for my taste, but I do like supporting small shops.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sway10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“GREAT SCONE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I had a very good hot chocolate and great scone. Nice atmosphere and great location to stop for a snack while your shopping.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank gilgbuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Chic and awesome coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Exceptional venue in the strip mall with the centrally located outlet stores a great ski-supplies place. Coffee is awesome, though food choices are limited to some (very good) baked goods.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LAChuck7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Coffee under the Xmas tree(upside down)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

I liked other decor as soon as I saw it thru the windows. Minimalist and cool. Very personable young male staff. I had a decaf mocha topped with a tea leaf foamed art. To top it off, it tasted smooth and not scalding hot. Only open for 1year, so I can't wait to see how they evolve on future ski trips here. Also very convenient location next to the outlet shops.

Helpful?
Thank diamonddog_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing