We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great coffee in a modern setting.”

Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great coffee in a modern setting.”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a mood lifter. Coffee of all shapes and sizes: cold drip, pour over, espresso; it was hard to chosse just one. The lovely ladies serving didn't make my choice easier, with so many recommendations. I finally decided to try the pour over, my wife took a latte. What a great tasting beverage! What a great place. Everyone travelling past Mammoth Lakes should plan a break here. It's definitely worth the small detour.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank creeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    17
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sf bay area
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I went to coffee heaven”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

A little slow in getting coffee, but all was because the staff really take their time to perfect your coffee. I've had Tully and other fine Italian/french coffees, but this...is really good. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank drT&3ladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Superb coffee”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I'm a bit of a coffee geek and like to seek out the best coffee when I travel. On previous visits to Mammoth I've been to Looney bean which, while better than the likes of Starbucks was only ever Ok.
The baristas at Black Velvet consistently produced truly great straight espresso and nice latte art (the sign of perfectly foamed milk)
They have 2 synesso 2-group machines and a la Marzocco GS2 and roast their own coffee. A pair of cold brewers are prominent but the espresso was so good I didn't try any.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dapperdavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Attention coffee snobs”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Finding a coffee shop in Mammoth that uses the "pour over" method was a surprise. You wait a little longer and pay a little more but you get a consistent and good cup of coffee.

I occasionally visit Intelligensia in Chicago, where they also use the pour over method. Intelligentsia is far better, but Black Velvet gets points for trying, and I did enjoy my cup.

The service was friendly and not at all snobby, which you often find in hipper cafes, so that was nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank potatopants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Above average coffee”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is an nice addition. The coffee is a cut above Starbucks, but the service is painfully slow. Once you have your coffee, it's a fairly comfortable place to hang out. The location is a bit odd, and it's easy to miss it in the strip mall, but overall worth finding.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sleeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar also viewed

 

Been to Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing