We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condos are the way to go!”
Review of Austria Hof Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Austria Hof Lodge
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you are going to Mammoth Lakes, consider staying in one of the condos that Austria Hop represents. You could stay in a hotel, but why when you have could have a full size kitchen, separate bedrooms,two bathrooms, wood burning fireplaces, a gorgeous forest view, and all the comforts of your very own home. The condo I stayed in was so nice. It was clean, modern, and all the furniture was in excellent condition. The only negative-the coffee pot handle was broken, making it a bit more difficult to pour.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a condo, when searching Austria Hof. Although the hotel is really cool, has a bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 51Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 281 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Good overnight place for heading out To yosemite. Fresh crisp air, nice little town. In winter time i think this place is great, right next to the skilift. Beds are good, wifi did not work very well. Good shower, friendly people.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Edith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed with the Austria Hof Lodge on my way from L.A. to Yosemite. I actually ended up staying in one of the condos instead of the lodge. After leaving L.A. this was a breath of fresh air. The condo was spotless and felt like a home. The location was among several other condo buildings, but it was a very quiet area. There was a joining back porch that looked into the woods. Very serene. If you have the opportunity to stay here, take it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute over X-mas break. We were amazed that we could get a room this close to the slopes for the price we paid. Mind you - the building is very dated. Previous visits we have stayed at Mammoth Mountain Inn - both are from the same era (70s). However, the bar in the basement is a happening hot spot (we eve saw a minor TV personality). Great to have a continental breakfast before we went out. The hot tub looked like a science experiment - would have been nice to use after a day on the slopes. I would stay here again. Please update the building!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkyLee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here during a trip to Yosemite. The room is small but cozy and the bed is comfortable. Has everything we need after we stayed one night in Yosmite valley: a good rest. The dinner at the restaurant was excellent: delicious and of high quality. The breakfast is only ok, but It is free, so we will not complain. The only thing we didn't like was there were too few outlets in the room. We had to unplug the TV to charge our cell phone and camera. But it is definitely a good choice if you are visiting Yosemite.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riviere2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our king size room with a jetted tub is on the 3rd (top) floor. The room comes with a shared balcony with a mountain view and condos across the street. The room is clean with dated furniture. The bed is comfortable. There is a small refrigerator inside a closet. No coffee maker. You need to go down to the 1st floor to get ice from the ice machine. No elevator and the stairs are a bit on the narrow side. Quite a climb if you stay on the 3rd floor which is the top floor.

It gets really hot in the summer time (around mid to upper 80s) and super stuffy inside the room. They give you a box fan which is noisy. We slept with our door to the balcony opened and the box fan on the entire night. Thank God there were no bugs from the outside.There's a screen window but somehow it didn't really help much to cool off the room. We both were so miserable during our 2 night stay here because of the heat inside our room. We actually booked the room for 3 nights but decided to leave earlier. We knew we had to pay for the 3rd night but we just couldn't stay for another night here. I'm really surprised no one has mentioned about the heat in their reviews.

What they really need is a small window A/C. I knew they didn't have A/C when I booked the room but I thought they had a ceiling fan and I also underestimated the weather being that hot there. We even tried to look for other hotels in the area but because it's a long weekend, Best Western (which has a good location, in the middle of the town) was fully booked and Westin hotel only had a couple of suites available (for over $350 a night). Try to avoid coming here over a holiday weekend.

Breakfast is in the basement area. It's a bit stuffy there too. They have coffee, tea, some juice, bagel, toast, boiled egg, cereal, and yougurt. Parking is free. Internet (with a pretty good reception) is free too.

Room Tip: Check the weather forecast before you come here. The room has no A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World Passport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

When I stepped in the entrance, it feels very much like a guest house in Germany, the German feels from interior details, menu and breaths. The name of the lodge says it all. The bed is very comfortable. Hot water is unquestionably a gift to winter guest who come skiing. Breakfast is sufficient except some home made fresh breads or strawberry jam found in their true counterpart in Europe. Worth staying for the money paid in the area.

Room Tip: There are condo choices but cost more, for a room in the Lodge, any one of them is just nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahsangje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,546 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
879 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
531 reviews
0.8 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,198 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Hof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Hof Lodge

Address: 924 Canyon Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $124 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Hof Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Austria Hof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hof Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Austria Hof Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing