We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ouch!”
Review of Austria Hof Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Austria Hof Lodge
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I thought I made a reservation on line but I apparently did not complete it. When I arrived to check in the man at the front desk was surly at best. He acted like he was doing me a big favor by allowing me to check in even though the place was practically empty. He gave me a room directly above the bar and I could not sleep until it closed. I can't imagine he wasn't aware of this. On the plus side my meal and service at the restaurant were excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djbphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 278 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here only one night (jammed itinerary) but wish we could have stayed here longer the hotel is lovely with an Austrian Ski cabin feel; our room was quite big, very clean and luxurious with a balcony. We arrived late from San Francisco as we took the 108 Sonora pass instead of the 120, but the reception kept the kitchen open for us and what a delight it was; the food was first class, truly the best salmon I have ever had. The restaurant had a nice feel and the adjoining bar. We got up graded to the King room and the bed was so comfortable. The breakfast was a nice buffet and kept us going till lunch. It was our favourite hotel of our trip and I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finnvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

the most amazing thing in a hotel in the mountains is to find an extraordinary restaurant hidden inside. the people at the bar are friendly and smart. The SPA in the snow with a glass of wine gazing at the stars is wanderful


  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank rosafucsiaOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I booked a room at the Austria Hof Lodge for over new years which was more than 2 weeks away. Unknown to me my husband just booked a room at our first choice location which had a bigger room and was previously sold out, so when he told me I immediately cancelled at the Austria Hof. I CANCELLED THE RESERVATION APPROX. 10 MINUTES FROM THE TIME I MADE IT. They charged me the $50 dollar cancellation charge. I called explaining the circumstance that it literally was cancelled right after I made it as it just didn't seem fair for them to charge me, and that made no difference to them and they still charged the $50. They will easily rent that room if it isn't already since it is during the holiday and over 2 weeks away. It was done online so it did not inconvenience them. I do not like places that do not have good customer service. Although I am required to pay the $50 by their cancellation policy despite them being aware of the circumstances, I feel that sometimes as a business you just need to do the right thing and treat people fairly instead of just trying to make the most money....they certainly did not do the right thing and in the long run a bad reputation will not help your business . I WILL NEVER STAY IN THE AUSTRIA HOF LODGE because they couldn't approach a problem on an individual basis and took advantage of this situation to make a quick $50 for nothing. I find that very immoral.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank kim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austriahof, Owner at Austria Hof Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Kim S, I apologize that you experienced issues and and are unhappy with the stated cancellation policies and rules. Unfortunately you made this through a third party reservation system and in doing so agreed to very specific policies beyond our control. The cancellation was reported to us the following day and was subject to a nominal $50.00 fee. I understand your frustration and wish I could do more but you did not make the booking directly with us and in doing so you are subject to the other travel sites policies. Thank You, Joseph Mueller, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We'd seen it for years and finally stayed here - perfectly situated next to Canyon Lodge - you'd think they'd cater to skier's needs, but breakfast and coffee is embargoed until 8 am - so forget first chair. Refrigerator in room but no coffee maker, paper cups, old TV with mis-connected DVD. Noisy old school place, but serviceable. The facility is worn with a few upgrades, but pretty basic. Great views of Lincoln from outdoor hot tub. Bizarre apple smells permeated the entire place starting at 4 am and really never stopped - fun at first but nauseating by the end. Hotel staff answered questions but offered little more and didn't smile much if at all.
By contract, downstairs the bar staff was GREAT, friendly and helpful, good happy hour deals, but the menu is rather (but not exclusively) meat-oriented.
In sum, the place seems to be striving to be true to old-school Austria "hospitality" that seems out of place in this day and place. Check out the happy hour, and stay to be near the slopes if you want, but don't expect them to cater or respond to your needs.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCC207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Old lodge great location but Lodge has seen its better days. They do the best they can with what they have and that was ok. Ideal place to go with friends, parking and internet included (good signal even in 3rd floor). Nice Jacuzzi in 2nd floor but since carpet was so dirty and dinning room was smelly I did not dare to go on it. Bed sheets and covers were clean so was bathroom, but again carpets and chairs were scary old and dirty. Not bad for $80 per day but I rather to pay extra $10 or $20 and try something else next time.

Room Tip: 3rd floor room .302 had little balcony facing mountain and no noise upstairs ; )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room was hot, stuffy and smelled bad. The "breakfast" they offered was pitiful with cheap breads and teas. They had yogurt that was sitting out and getting warm and the fresh fruit they had did not look fresh at all. The room had an in room refrigerator that was very loud and sounded like an ice machine was in the room rumbling all night. Not impressed at all. One upside is that you couldn't get closer to lifts in the winter.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,477 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
854 reviews
0.8 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
857 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
528 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Hof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Hof Lodge

Address: 924 Canyon Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $100 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Hof Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Austria Hof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hof Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Austria Hof Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing