We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a summer stop”
Review of Austria Hof Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Austria Hof Lodge
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Thsi place is probably a great ski lodge with a noisy bar and a very ordinary restaurant serving big stodgy meals. In the summer it has no air-con and our room had just one window which opened onto a shared balcony area over looking the carpark. This was a more expensive mountain view room and, yes, there was sloping ground to be seen beyond the carpark.
We fell for the book a meal online and save option, assuming that we'd pre-paid. When we had dinner there were items which seemed a bit interesting but we'd pre-paid for the cheap stuff so we stuck withg it. Next day at check-out we were assured that we hadn't pre-paid for anything but the room. We could have eaten at least a bit better.
We had some wine with our dinner - enormously marked up. A wuine we'd been buying in convenience stores for less than ten dollars was being offered at $30. After we'd signe the chit, the half asleep server indicated that he'd added the gratuity so we didn't have to worry. Later we saw thet he'd applied a 25% tip. When I mentioned this at checkout the clerk replied - "Oh I don't know what those bar guys downstairs get up to.
We've marked sleep quality as terrible but this was due to the altitude and not the bed.
So, for skiers who just want beer, burgers and bed, this is probably OK, but summer trippers, steer clear.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austriahof, Owner at Austria Hof Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Dear Roger C, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize for any issues you may have had and would like to respond to several of your issues. First, I understand that you expected the meals to be prepaid with the rest of your stay. In your particular case however I found that you requested the value meals after making your online reservations with us. Since electronic payment is collected automatically when the reservation was made it was not our policy to charge your card a second time without a swipe, rather our policy is to collect payment at checkout when we can verify the card. In addition, both at check-in and in the restaurant all guests are presented with the menu you requested which clearly states that service of 18% will be collected your server. In your case you were charged exactly 18% as outlined on the menu and on the website where you first found the special offer. And it is a special offer! We offer a three course complete dinner for 19.95 plus tip and tax. Of course you won't find our famous Poki salad or our Elk on it but it is still a very popular and delicious option for guests looking for value these days. Regarding the wine list, restaurants are not grocery stores and must maintain higher margins to stay in business. The wines you selected were an excellent Pinots and both under $30 and priced very fairly. Thank you for your comments, Joseph Mueller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 281 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Austria Hof is situated right at the bottom of a ski run/mtn bike run. The rooms are ok. Great happy hour in the bar and some seriously good food in the bar and restaurant. Friendly staff and good location.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The rooms are comfy as are the beds. Insulated for the winter months, with no A/C the room at the time of our busy was stuffy when there was no breeze outside. There is a DVD player in the rooms. WiFi, check. The jacuzzi was just fine and I have no unnamable rashes from using it.

The bar in the basement was VERY convenient and offers splendid happy hour specials. The attached restaurant focused on a bavarian style menu and was so good, we ate there both nights.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CircleOfSteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Old hotel, but friendly staff. The room is very much as i expected. The room is good size, but the bathroom is quite small. We stay in this hotel on the way to Yosemite national park.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank opdragon11754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Advantages:
- Clean
- Nice rooms
- Amazing jacuzzi on the roof, overlooking the ski slopes / woodland
- Nice breakfast of fresh fruit and some pastries
- Free parking
- Close to local attractions, but you still need a car

Disadvantages:
- Promised balcony, fireplace, wifi, HDTV, DVD player, radio, double sink. Received ground floor room with none of these amenities. When queries, we were told only our 'valued customers receive this' and there were no room available

Would I return? Only if I got what was promised and an apology.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what was advertised online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PhillyFeatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Guest, I apologize if you felt misled in any way. We clearly state all general amenities of the hotel on our website and then further list specific amenities based on each room type. For example king and queen rooms are generally on the ground floor and will not have a balcony. All rooms however do have flat screen TV"S, free WiFi, radio and, double sinks. We would never reserve better rooms for valued customers and don't have any such policy in place! What we do however is charge more for deluxe rooms such as King rooms and those with fireplaces or jetted tubs. Again, I apologize if you felt misled in any way. Please contact us direct and we would be happy look deeper into your reservation and provide you a free night if we accidentally placed you in a different room than you booked. Sincerely, Joseph Mueller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I was a bit worried before coming to this hotel, as I wasn't sure about what to think...
But once we got there, we had a wonderful surprise.
The hotel is very nice indeed!
Terrific beds, huge room, nice bathroom, very nice breakfast, very kind staff.
Wow! Everything went out just as expected.
The location is superb, the views to the mountains in the morning were priceless.
Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sitraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Our third floor room no elevator, was small but pleasant. The bathroom fixtures weren't all connected (sink top and mirror), and overall the room was a bit small and cramped. I will review the restaurant separately, but it was not all I had hoped. The people were nice, but it was just too much effort going up and down the stairs for the ambiance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,546 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
880 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
531 reviews
0.8 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,199 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Hof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Hof Lodge

Address: 924 Canyon Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $124 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Hof Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Austria Hof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hof Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Austria Hof Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing