We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveler rating
116
208
123
27
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
208
123
27
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbagelsone nightcovered parkinghot tubcontinental breakfastroom was largeno liftmain streetenglish muffinbus stopcoffee and juicedish soapfridge and microwavepaper towelspublic areasfront desk clerkunderground parking
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 490 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2010

I 've tried 8 or 10 motels in Mammoth over the years and this is the best.
It is clean they are friendly. they are welcoming. they are easy to get to know and chat with: Rob, the manager, especially; also, the the owner George (who has the good taste to use fine sheets on the beds), Rusty, Janai,....
Things work. They are flexible, the water is always hot, rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable, prices are reasonable.
It.s great.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doug16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

A good place to break the trip between San Francisco and Las Vegas - but Mammoth lakes looks to be an interesting place to spend more time.

Sierra Lodge was comfortable and clean. The rooms were a bit tired - typical of a ski town - but spacious. Was good to have free WiFi access after paying $14.95/day in San Francisco. The room came with breakfast, which was provided in a common room - great food and relaxing. Service was good and we received a friendly reception, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatJohnvanBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Like another recent reviewer questioned, I'm not sure why there are so many glowing reviews either. To be honest, I expected a lot more from this hotel but it is in need of major updating. The rooms were clean but really old. The service was fine and the included breakfast much better than our previous stay at Stovepipe Wells in Death Valley.

I'd recommend this hotel but stress that it is a passable hotel, not great as other reviews here have indicated.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOfoodie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I want to qualify my review by stating that I'm in the hotel/F&B industry. When we travel, we look to Trip Advisor for the top hotels in the area. We're a very puzzled at how the Sierra Lodge received such high marks. There were major issues inside and out that need to be addressed.

The exterior of the hotel looks like ownership doesn't want to spend the money to keep the landscaping attractive. I inquired about this issue with their very helpful front desk manager, and he stated that, in so many words, wasn't a priority. He stated that he could barely get the owner to paint the front of the hotel. He said that when the winter came, all the plants would die. But, if every hotel had that philosophy in Mammoth Lakes, then every hotel would look like the Sierra Lodge.

The interior of the hotel looks needs what we call in the industry, a "deep clean". Because this is an independent hotel, they oftentimes do not have corporate inspections. This leads to important features such as carpet cleaning and in room features to not be maintained on a schedule. The complimentary breakfast looks like a last minute amenity, not something that they are proud to serve. In the hotel industry, if you do something, believe in what you are doing.

There's a saying that, "When in Rome, do as the Romans". With all the hotel competition in Mammoth Lakes, it would serve this hotel to do some major upgrades to just bring it the average status of the competition. There are some good positive features that every hotel should strive for: good, friendly customer service, value and location. But, it's going to take a motivated owner to turn this property around. There are several hotels around that would serve you better and not disappoint. Spend the extra few dollars and you'll be much happier with your decision.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bogawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierralodge, Manager at Sierra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2010

Response to: industry “Insider” viewpoint review

The Sierra Lodge has no problem with constructive criticism and, in fact, embraces it. It is one of the main reasons we like Trip Advisor, and refer guests to the site. However, in my opinion, the “Insider” review crosses over the line of objective assessment. The review seems as if it has a predetermined outcome, and its author, an axe to grind.

1. With regard to my comments, I never said that landscaping wasn't a priority. This is a paraphrase of what was actually said that lends itself to the “Insiders” negative agenda. It does not accurately represent what I said and is misleading. It sets the tone for the rest of the review, establishing false credibility by inferring that the manager is in agreement with the “Insider.” Let me assure you, the manager is not in agreement with the "Insider."

2. The “Insider’s” opinion is so far in the negative that it’s in direct opposition to the vast majority of our reviews. In other words; it falls outside the bell curve, way outside. Even in the next review we received, immediately following the “Insider’s”, a guest pulls things back to reality, referencing the “Insider’s” review, partially agreeing, but giving us average or above average marks and stressing that the hotel is “passable”. The “Insider” states we need a “deep clean” and carries on about corporate practices as if they are somehow better than those of the Sierra Lodge. Let me say that we’ll match our standards here at the Sierra Lodge with anyone in Mammoth. We’ve had guests tell us we’re cleaner than four star hotels they’ve stayed in. Our housekeeping crew is one of the best in the business and we regularly perform routine spring and fall cleaning that includes steam cleaning carpets and literally tearing the rooms apart, top to bottom, to ensure cleanliness. The “Insider” is just flat wrong, and we have the repeat business to prove it.

3. This anonymous individual chooses to close by casting a slur at an owner he has never met. He infers that the owner is “unmotivated”. He may be an “Insider,” but his actions do not seem to be very professional to me.

Thank you,
Rob Seidler
Manager, Sierra Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed in the Sierra Lodge for one night in June this year. We were on route from Las Vegas to San Francisco and wanted to have one night in / close to Yosemite. Being honest we chose the Sierra Lodge because it was the cheapest hotel that looked decent enough. The pictures we had seen were a little out of date so we weren't quite sure what to expect.

The hotel is really great. The staff were friendly and helpful without being too in your face or intrusive. The rooms were absolutely fine. They are not luxurious so don't stay there if you want to be pampered. But if you're looking for a cheap place to rest your head the beds are certainly comfy, the rooms are very spacious and they have all the facilities you need. We especially liked the hot tub outside. We were there in summer so it was nice and refreshing after a long drive. I can imagine in the winter if you're there for skiing it's lovely too.

Breakfast was great - you're just left to your own thing but there is plenty of choice. We did a bit of a tour and this was by far the best breakfast selection that was free. YOu had bagels, muffins, toast, pastries and plenty of coffee and juice.

The location is great as well - Mammoth Lakes itself is handy for lots of places but the hotel is just set off the main road and very close to a selection of restaurants.

cannot fault this hotel - would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KARDJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews