We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Basic lodging, bare-bones rooms, some covered parking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sierra Lodge
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersBronze level
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Basic lodging, bare-bones rooms, some covered parking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Mammoth Lakes has a ton of rental condos and high-end hotels/resorts but not a whole lot of selection for in the value hotel range. The Sierra Lodge is a bit of an odd place but worked out OK for our July visit to Mammoth Lakes. Good location, near shops and restaurants. Building configuration is odd and there's no elevator. The rooms do NOT have A/C - only a pedestal fan and either a window or sliding glass door to open (but with no cross-breeze it's a bit useless). The rooms, furniture, fixtures are very dated ... but do include a modular built-in mini-kitchen with sink, fridge & microwave. We rejected the first room we were shown because it was dark, and had a weird configuration. The staff is mixed - the more senior staff members are helpful and friendly while the less senior ones are just ok. Included breakfast is basically coffee, juice, toast and pastries. This place is best suited for group stays during ski season ... it wasn't optimal for a summer visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gato77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    150
    94
    22
    11
See reviews for
66
168
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

It was a terrible night in Sierra lodge, we arrived in the evening and the staff was very unpleasant. The room they gave us was a very old room and full of dust. I could not sleep, because of the alergic reaction to it. The position of the Hotel is outside the city center, on the main road, which is full of high speed traffic. Breakfast and relax room is too tiny for all guests. I would not suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emanuelws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

we require 1st floor room to avoid carry luggage upstairs and downstairs. However the 1st floor room arranged to us is below the main road level and facing the parking entrance. So we have to make the curtain on all the time. So to us, the room is not good.
The brakfast is simple, donnut, bread and drinks. But the dining room (or livng room) view is much comfortable, feels warm.
There are several outlet (Ralph Lauren, Coatch, etc,) and nice restaurant near by. The town is a good place for vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flora_Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hants, uk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night at this hotel as a stopover between traveling from a day through Death Valley, on our way to Yosemite. We checked in quite late (10.30pm) with no issues. The person at the desk was very helpful , friendly & full of information. The room was clean and spacious with a fridge and microwave. As this was just a base to catch up on sleep, we didnt use any amenities. Cant comment on location as we did not stay in Mammoth and left at dawn the next day. Theres a pizza place and bar opposite the hotel which was heaven-sent!! (And open for food at 10pm) In the morning we stopped for food supplies and coffee at Schats Bakery (down the road near petrol station) which was also really nice. We had free parking, and free wi fi. No lift tho so bit of a hassle lugging suitcases up the stairs...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kj1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night during a journey between San Francisco and Las Vegas.

Booked via a booking website the booking hadn't come through but the chap on the desk had no issue with this; and promptly sorted this hiccup out. I'm pretty sure if they were full (and the booking website were inept) he would've helped us sort out alternative accommodation.

That said, the room allocated was enormous. The hotel itself is as expected. We didn't pay 5* prices and didn't get a 5* hotel, but we got exactly what we wanted and needed - A huge room, an enormous bed, an enormously comfortable bed and a relaxed atmosphere. Yes the hot-tub was out of service; but even this could've been sorted by the chap on the desk.

I imagine when it snows this place - with its garage facility and proximity to a very lively eatery and bar (across the road) - would buzz with atmosphere.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I imagine a rear facing balcony room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattStevens908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Room very spacious, clean and comfortable, but the public areas really need an upgrade. Although breakfast is included, forget it, nowhere to sit and the breakfast itself left a lot to be desired. For the price however not a bad option for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1948dmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We found the hotel very accommodating mad were impressed with the size and comfort of the rooms.

Our plan was to visit Yosemite which was 2.5 hours from the hotel.it was a comfortable journey completed in a day, and allowed us a simple trip down to death valley afterwards. Mammoth lakes itself is a o pleasant town ideal for skiiers, with plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from.

Lastly we got to see our first glimpse of bears in the town, although from a safe distance within thw hotel.

All in, a pleasurable hotel, excellent value, friendly staff and would definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crane_watts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
3.5 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 1,085 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#8 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 634 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Property: Sierra Lodge
Address: 3540 Main Street, P.O. Box 9228, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Mammoth's first 100% non-smoking hotel. Perfectly located near the slopes (1.5 miles), in the middle of town, we offer affordable, clean rooms and great hospitality. Amenities include free WI-FI, free continental breakfast, cable TV, kitchenette, telephone, hairdryer, outdoor spa, and underground parking. We are located .75 miles from the new Village and the Village gondola and walking distance to restaurants and shops. Yosemite and Tioga Pass are 45 miles from our hotel in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Sierra Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing