We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sierra Lodge is dirty, smelly & nasty plus the staff are rude!”
Review of Sierra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sierra Lodge
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 5, 2008

How do spell rude? G-E-O-R-G-E. The front desk people are so rude it's unimaginable! Their website totally misrepresents the "lodge". You would be better off staying at the Motel 6. "Tastefully decorated" rooms? Not even close to even decorated. Unless you call stained bedspreads, stained couches, chipped wood furniture and peach laminate... decorated? Kitchenette? No, your kitchenette is a counter. No coffee pot or any of the other kithcen ammenities. The decal on the door of the room stated the last time the fire department inspected the room was 1989. I think that was when the room was" tastefully decorated" and the last time it was cleaned. We pulled back the sheets and we found hair! Yes, the small curly ones! Gross. We called the front desk and they said, "We’ll then just leave". So we did (at least they didn’t charge us for the 30 minutes we were in the room). We went to the Holiday Inn for only $10 more and it was awesome!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank christyedavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 457 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2008

Stayed at the lodge for two nights during the week...it was clean, middle of town - shuttle stop is right out front, hot tub was right outside room. Room 111 is perfect; a little loud - near the stairs but the spa is right off the balcony. Room 110 is good too! I will stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sands75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights in a double with my dad. The location is not bad, just a few minutes away by bus to Canyon Lodge which is where we mainly skiied/snowboarded. Right next door to Angel's restaurant which has good food for a good price - got take out there last night. Their menu is in the Menu magazine that you can get at the front desk. The outdoor hot tub is small, but fine. The breakfast is simple - bagels, coffee, tea, oj, danishes and apples. The heater works great, a little too well as we got really hot in the room. The place is pretty oldish, but it was good enough for us. There is a kitchenette with plates and silverware which was nice. They also provide you with a locker to put your skiis/snowboard. Overall - not bad, but nothing fancy.

Stayed: December 2007
2  Thank hellotqoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2007

Very good stay for anyone looking to board and have a good place to stay. Staff is great and helpful. Good resteraunts close by and close to the village. Can not say how it compares to local hotels as I usually get a condo but was not disappointed. Try and avoid rooms next to the stairs, it is easy to unload your truck but have to listen to people going up and down all night. All in all a good value for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank goodhotels45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2007

This was our first time staying in Mammoth. I did not want to pay an arm and a leg for a room but didn't want motel 6. The rates were reasonable and a plus when I found out it was a non smoking hotel 105.per night with AAA discount. They do need to do some remodeling, some of the furniture is old and the back door on the 2nd floor was comming of the hinges. For the price it wasn't bad.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank peirpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

We decided to stay at the Sierra Lodge because it was a great value for the Mammoth area and they accepted pets. This place wasn't bad, but wasn't good; it was just ok. There was a major pipe leak or something like that going on and the first floor stairway was soaked and smelled musty. We stayed on the third floor so that didn't affect us after we got upstairs. The rooms were good size and decent. The bed was a little on the cheap side and not incredibly comfortable but we managed to sleep on it. The staff was attentive. During our stay, our TV broke and we had it replaced within 15 minutes. We didn't spend much time in the room so it was an ok accomodation. If you plan on spending more time in the room you might want to pass because other than a bed and a shower there are no extra comforts. Also, if staying in the summer, THERE IS NO A/C in the motel...that made our nights very warm and slightly uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Apewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2007

We turned up looking for cheap accommodation and Sierra Lodge fitted the bill perfectly. $66 got us a huge room - tired but clean and perfectly comfortable.

It's clearly geared up for the skiing trade - huge pegs and loads of drying space in the room.

It's a Travel Lodge style place in a good location in the town - close enough to walk to a few reasonable restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TravelJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
3.5 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,482 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
862 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
864 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Address: 3540 Main Street, P.O. Box 9228, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $88 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Mammoth's first 100% non-smoking hotel. Perfectly located near the slopes (1.5 miles), in the middle of town, we offer affordable, clean rooms and great hospitality. Amenities include free WI-FI, free continental breakfast, cable TV, kitchenette, telephone, hairdryer, outdoor spa, and underground parking. We are located .75 miles from the new Village and the Village gondola and walking distance to restaurants and shops. Yosemite and Tioga Pass are 45 miles from our hotel in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Sierra Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing