We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity we only had one night”
Review of Sierra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sierra Lodge
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay. The room was large and very well equipped with a good size fridge, tidy kitchenette with microwave and a good stack of cutlery. there's plenty of storage space for a longer stay and a balcony for relaxation, even if the view isn't that stimulating! The Lodge is close to the central area and so handy for shopping, but is also well placed for reaching local attractions. The owner is a good fount of ideas if you find that your plans don't work out. We'd planned to do the Scenic Gondola, only to find it closed down the previous weekend, so he set us up with some great alternatives. Lastly, there's generous undercover parking, with the first floor rooms served by a small car park around the back; well worth knowing as there's no lift available! Our only criticism would be the breakfast which was very limited and not especially nutritious.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caneable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 453 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a hotel, not a lodge. Although it badly needs renovation, it is so inexpensive ($79 + tax for a room with one bed in September) that it's hard to complain, it's why I give it 4 stars instead of 3). The rooms are huge and have all the amenities you need for an extended stay. The bed was too hard for my taste, and the pillows were poor. A continental breakfast is included in a room ill-equipped for sitting down to eat, but it's better than nothing. There is an indoor parking, which must be a great help in winter.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Avila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I've been staying at the Sierra Lodge since 2007, sometimes twice a year, and I will go back again. I love the location of the hotel, they have plenty of easy parking and the staff is always very nice and helpful, especially Rusty. He always has a smile and is ready to help The rooms are clean and I like the kitchenette area since I usually stay for more than a week at a time. They also take dogs for a small extra fee per night - totally worth it. I will be back in 2013.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lav395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for only one night on the way from San Francisco to Las Vegas. After a long trip thru Yosemite National Park, Sierra Lodge was a perfect place to have rest. We arrived late night and was surprised to find such a huge room with a balcony. The Bed is a King Kong size and the mattress was so comfortable, so we slept like babies. In the morning we found out that location is great within walking distance of restaurants.
We made our decision to stay in this hotel due to the low price and our expectations were even exceeded. There is also a free parking downstairs.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mer_dimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

The motel is in a great town , the rooms are enormous and very clean and comfy. There is free parking on site and we got a room with a wonderful view. The rooms have a little balcony so you can drink coffee in the morning in front of a fantastic view. The only downfall of the motel is the breakfast which is very very very basic with not enough chairs to sit down. If you stay in mammoth lake you must stop in schats bakery- amazing . We ate dinner in chart house , very well designed but very pricy food was tasty but not worth the high price .

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlp1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a blast in Mammoth Lakes. Sierra Lodge help us find places to go. The room was nice. The staff goes out of there way. We stay here everytime. We love the location. Sierra Lodge has tons of restaurants close by. The last time we came up we went to Angels Restaurant. It is close for remodeling. Can't wait to come up in two months to see what they did to Angels. It is a Must to eat at Angels if You never been.

Room Tip: I like the second floor do to the back lot parking goes to second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Over the last 2 years I have stayed 20-25 nites at the Sierra Lodge for Business, most of the time in the middle of Ski Season. This is a busy place, the rooms are a somewhat spacious, the service staff and front desk supportive. I have stayed at hotels that cost more, but this is the
best value-bang for your buck. I can see why people would flock to this hotel first, both summer and winter, as this is a mountain hotel experience to be enjoyed. Located in the best part of Mammoth, downtown, a short walk to food and shopping if needed. D Zielski-Prescott AZ.

Room Tip: Love the Balcony on a snowy day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
3.5 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,477 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
854 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
528 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Address: 3540 Main Street, P.O. Box 9228, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $94 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Mammoth's first 100% non-smoking hotel. Perfectly located near the slopes (1.5 miles), in the middle of town, we offer affordable, clean rooms and great hospitality. Amenities include free WI-FI, free continental breakfast, cable TV, kitchenette, telephone, hairdryer, outdoor spa, and underground parking. We are located .75 miles from the new Village and the Village gondola and walking distance to restaurants and shops. Yosemite and Tioga Pass are 45 miles from our hotel in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Sierra Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing