We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveler rating
116
208
123
27
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
208
123
27
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbagelsone nightcovered parkinghot tubcontinental breakfastroom was largeno liftenglish muffinmain streetbus stopcoffee and juicedish soapfridge and microwavepaper towelspublic areasfront desk clerkunderground parking
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 490 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was a great location. Tis is a one stop shop and I loved it. You can do your laundry, have a free breakfast, visit with others. The clerk was very , very nice!! I wpild recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed one night at the Sierra Lodge in Mammoth Lakes on our cross-country vacation with our two young children.

The staff was very friendly and the room was big and clean--the mattress, mattress pads, and sheets all looked good. There was a cute little balcony off of the room (very small, no furniture), the Internet connection was good, and the view of the snow-capped mountains in the distance from the big windows in the lodge's breakfast room was very beautiful--and it was mid-June! I'm sure it's especially gorgeous in the winter. I'm also sure that the under-hotel parking is a bonus in the winter.

Now the negatives--the hotel's decor was very dated. We seriously felt like we'd walked back into 1985--the colors of the bedspreads and carpet, the walls of the rooms and hallways that were decorated with faded-out framed prints of famous works of art, and even the vintage Spartus am/fm radio in the TV cabinet. There was no alarm clock in our room and no air conditioning--just a fan in the room, but maybe a/c isn't usually needed in Mammoth. Also, there wasn't a coffeemaker in the room. The breakfast selection was slim--by the time we got there (albeit near the end of breakfast hours) there were 3 danishes, a few bagels and English muffins, some apples, and a tiny bit of oj.

Considering it wasn't ski season and the interior decorating hadn't been changed since the 80s, the price we paid seemed a bit steep ($100 with tax).

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrossCountry90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We booked through a California booking page, and got a twin queen room for $100 including taxes. Breakfast was included; coffee, Danishes and bagels. There is a great hot tub out on the patio. Staff were friendly. We used Sierra lodge as our launching spot for heading to the Tioga Pass in Yosemite. Great value.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ganlexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

My husband and I just stayed here and the service was excellent. We have no complaints, and the price was terrific. The room was clean and large, and the bed was comfortable. Our room had a nice kitchenette and as a bonus it had a beautiful view. The location and proximity to both skiing and Mammoth restaurants and shops is terrific. The manager was particularly helpful and informative about local stores. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrielynnstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Fire alarm went off three times during night. The manager on duty was sleeping in his room and screamed and swore at guests trying to figure out what was going on. Instead of fixing the problem, he disconnected the fire system. Very safe ...

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bme11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierralodge, Manager at Sierra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

Rebuttal,

First of all I wish to make one point clear. The person referred to as the manager in the guest reviews (rants) was the night clerk, not the manager. I’m the manager. My name is Rob Seidler and I’m the one writing this response.

Several nights ago some guests had too much to drink and misbehaved very badly at the hotel. They were evicted from the hotel by me as a result. Part of their infantile behavior involved breaking into a fire extinguisher holding box and spraying its contents all over the 2nd floor of the hotel. The dust from the extinguisher is what set off the smoke alarms. When the night clerk attempted to reset them they were coated with extinguisher dust and would not reset. His attempts did cause the alarms to go on and off a couple of time. However, contrary to what one of the misinformed guests had to say, at no time was the entire system shut down. There was fire protection at all times. The smoke detectors do not initiate water flow, the fusible links in the sprinkler systems do.

In attempting to resolve the issue the night shift clerk did in fact call 911, along with, unfortunately, some of our guests. There was a lot of confusion, moments when it seemed the bad behaving guests had quieted down, only to begin their fighting, and yelling and other improper behaviors after the police had left. All in all, the police came out three times that night. It was a very bad night for everyone involved.

The guests that wrote the negative reviews (they represent only two rooms of the twenty we had occupied that night) actually aggravated the situation by becoming irate with the night clerk. Even though he was trying to deal with the situation they felt it necessary to raise their voices and yell obscenities. This did not help things. Yelling obscenities at someone who is already under extreme pressure and stress due to the situation is not helpful. As is often the case, there are two sides to every story.

I believe that any rational person who looks at the reviews we commonly receive will, correctly, come to the conclusion that this event was an aberration, and not typical for our hotel. We did not cause this problem, we did everything we could to correct it, but the bottom line is, I can understand why the guests were upset.

Rob Seidler, Manager
Sierra Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews