We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CJ's Grill

CJ's Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
CJ's Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 88 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Meridian
Transit: We are located on Old Mammoth with a Red Line and Trolley bus stop just next door.
Description: American food with a twist. Sauces, Dressings & Desserts Home Made.
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had a nice family meal at CJs. Juan, the waiter, made us feel very welcome. The yellow fin tuna appetiser is worth a try as was the home made ice cream. Not bad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kent-Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    44
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Service, Tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We popped in this restaurant as we saw that it looked busy and thought, why not!

We were met by a fella called Doug who was really helpful and welcoming. He showed us to a table and gave a 5 star service throughout.

The food itself was really good, I ordered a Buffalo Burger (which was really good) and I thought when the option for salad was asked, I thought this would be with the meal, but it came as a really good starter. The same as my dad with a soup just before his battered fish (we did think it odd at the time of ordering to think soup with a main!)

Anyway, food is really good, service excellent, not the cheapest place in the world, but a meal (excluding alcohol) coming in around $40 is alright by me! I think it was worth it for the quality.

Well done!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Xenosapien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Basic food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Service was great and friendly. Food was ok and pricey. Kids eat free Monday. Chicken dishes were very basic ad I would not order again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelwkids22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What A Gem for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My spouse and I were shopping in the village and asked some locals where to have lunch. All agreed that CJ's was a hidden gem for a reasonable price. We both had soup and sandwiches for under $10 each. We were impressed with the service, atmosphere, and food. Better than we expected. It is on our go to next time we are in Mammoth.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Linn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We went because it was close by and had decent reviews. My Caesar salad was wilted, not crisp, lasagna suboptimal. But the bread was OK, and service friendly. Decent wine list.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lifegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CJ's Grill also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to CJ's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing