We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mammoth Mountain RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mammoth Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mammoth Mountain RV Park
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is our third time here. Stayed for 10 days. Really like how big this park is and how close it is to Town as well as jeep trails. We had partial hook ups. Full hook ups were not available. Looks like you really have to make plans many months in advance to secure which I would recommend if your staying longer than 5 days.
Great place for kids. Has a small playground. Nice campground for bike rides and walks.
Plenty of spots for large RV's as well as spots for tent campers in a different section.
Not all sites have fire pits. Section we stayed in we're able to get DirectTv sites 64- 134 as far as I know.
Office staff very helpful. If your calling from home to make reservations don't be dissapointed if your call is not answered right away, in fact in may take a few try's to get through. They are busy but they are pretty nice and polite when you finally get to talk to them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorenaGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    13
    3
    7
See reviews for
23
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at this campground for two nights in a tent site. The site itself was very large, and away from the main road, with trees, but it still feels more like camping in a park than at the lake or in the mountains. The firepit was smaller that previous campgrounds that I have been to but there was a grill over it to use for cooking. There was no tent pad and it was dusty but it is camping so I really can't complain. There were a lot of large black ants in the campground and my husband was bit several times. The bear box was about half the size as previous campgrounds I have visited. The bathrooms had outlet plugs, you have to keep pressing the shower button to keep the water flowing but that did not really bother me to much. The worst thing about it was the shower and the shower curtain both had mildew. There are sinks located outside the bathrooms with running water to clean fish. We enjoyed the pool, and the playground. The laundryroom had a good amount of washers and dryers. Overall I would say that if the amenities are important than this place is okay but there are a lot of very nice campgrounds in this area so you might want to check into the other options before placing your reservation especially because they have a no refund policy.

Room Tip: RV sites book up fast, there are plenty of tent sites available. There is a no refund policy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anayafamilytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
185 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We spent 13 nights at this RV park, parked among large Ponderosa Pine trees. The park has a nice indoor pool and large hot tub, but it's only open until the office closes at 8 p.m.
Mammoth Lakes has a wonderful biking and walking trail system that runs for miles beside the road up the mountain to several lakes and hiking trails. It runs right past the front of the RV park. The city's Visitor Center is across the street from the park. The park is about 40 miles from the east gate to Yosemite.
We were in a camping trailer, but there is a large area for tent campers, complete with bear-proof storage boxes. Yes, they really do have bears, so make sure you don't leave any food or other scented items in your tent or your vehicle.

Room Tip: Ask for a spot in the wooded area. Otherwise you may end up in a sloping paved lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed for two nights ended up staying for five. Convenient for everything locally and Yosemite national park. It has full hook up with cable if your telly mad, showers if you wish and a good launderette for a dollar wash and 75 cents for the dryer. Each site has it's own camp fire set in a metal grate, wood is available from the office, or like us go for a walk, plenty of pine cones and sticks to pick up. And to top it all you stand a good chance of seeing a bear

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JacquiHamblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
1.7 mi away
Edelweiss Lodge
Edelweiss Lodge
#8 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mountainback at Mammoth
Mountainback at Mammoth
#22 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.5 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
6.8 mi away
Convict Lake Resort
Convict Lake Resort
#3 of 53 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Mountain RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Mountain RV Park

Property: Mammoth Mountain RV Park
Address: 2667 Main Street, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Mammoth Lakes
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mammoth Mountain RV Park offers full and partial hook-up sites, tent camping and rustic sleeping cabins in the beautiful alpine town of Mammoth Lakes, CA. We are open year round. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing