We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mammoth Mountain Chalets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mammoth Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mammoth Mountain Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Outstanding Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just spent four beautiful days at the chalets. I had #10 and my daughter had number 23. They were beautiful, clean and everything you could need was provided. The on site management was fantastic, Romi was able to help us with any questions we had. The chalets were right at the base of Mammoth ski resort so you didn't to walk more than out your front door and you were at the mountain. I would highly recommend these chalets and definitely plan on going back and staying here again. Thank you Romi for everything.

Room Tip: I only was in number 10 and 23 and both were clean and beds were comfortable and views amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GSar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed in chalet #2 to celebrate our anniversary. We've been there once in the past and absolutely loved it! When we arrived the chalet was warm, cozy and spotless! It had all the comforts of home and we got settled very quickly. The view of Mammoth mtn is amazing from the chalet! Our last day we had a heavy snow and we were loving it so much we didn't want to leave! Our next visit we will definitely be bringing the whole family. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in chalet #7. It was a pleasure. Beautiful sunlight in the morning with a view of the chairlifts and gondola. The beds were super comfortable and the loft upstairs had a second TV and a second bathroom. There were only four of us but we booked last minute and it was the only one available so we ended up with extra space. The second bedroom had a bunk bed over a queen with a trundle underneath and the third bedroom had a queen. Both showers worked well. The kitchen had updated fixtures and was well stocked for cooking. Towels and toiletries were supplied. Because it was so conveniently located, we were able to cook breakfast, spend the morning out hiking, biking, etc., come back for lunch, regroup for the afternoon, and treat ourselves to a nice dinner out. It is in walking distance to the gondola and kids' adventure camp so you don't have to worry about parking which looked like it filled up and snaked down the road. The resident managers, Romie and Dale, live in one of the chalets and were just wonderful. My nine year-old son loved their very friendly dog. Both of my kids thought of the chalet as part of the vacation. They loved it and wanted to just hang out and play games some nights. The only downside is that there isn't a pool, or at least a hot tub! We could really use one after all the hiking!

Room Tip: I think some chalets are more updated than others. Be sure to ask Romie when you call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The family had a great time at this cabin. It is well stocked with items you need, the beds are super comfortable and we really enjoyed this place. We needed all 5 bedrooms-so glad there was a cabin with this many. The view was fantastic of the Mountain Bikers going up the hills and coming down. Easy to find. We loved it. Romie is a sweet hart. Very helpful. Thanks for a great stay. We went fishing at several lakes and caught several fish. This was a good time of year to go. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in Chalet #10 primarily because it was available and accepted pets. We wound up loving the location, the property and the attentive (without being intrusive) service of the on-site property managers. These are all individually owned homes and have been modernized to varying degrees. In the winter, these are true ski in/ski out rentals. In fact, you need to be brought in by Snowcat! My kids can't wait to come back and have that experience.

In terms of decor, Chalet #10 was comfortable, if basic. I had no real complaints -- beds were comfy, unit spotless, and I loved the quiet and seclusion of the woodsy location. On my wishlist: I would have preferred a place with more natural sunlight. The A-frame shape of the chalet meant windows and natural light coming in from just one direction (yep, morning, where it woke us up!) and during the day, we needed to use lights. Hate that.

I also wished there had been a grill and a few chairs on the deck for us to enjoy. I wound up buying a few beach chairs at the local thrift shop so that I could read my book outside on a beautiful afternoon. We left them behind for the next guest, but perhaps the owner would consider furnishing the deck. It's bare.

We will absolutely be back. Might try to book earlier and get Chalet 23, which looked lovely.

Room Tip: Call and talk to the on-site managers. They were very candid about the features and description of e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniebj90290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was our 1st experience staying in Chalet #6 and we'll have everlasting memories. Being able to drive right up to the front door...outstanding! Sure beats large condos or hotels. Our chalet was neat, clean, and was totally decorated with the owner's personal touches. It was fully equipped with absolutely everything you would need for a comfortable stay. There was firewood, large flat screen TV, WiFi, towels, cozy beds, stocked kitchen, and if you needed anything or wanted to know anything, the go-to people were the on-site managers, Romie and Dale. They were charming and friendly. They were the best! Also need to mention their dog, Tippy. Our dog, Bailey, would run up to their chalet every morning for a few licks and a treat from Romie. We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have been coming to the Chalets for years. The setting is wonderful and gives you that true mountain experience with views of pine trees and the snow-capped mountain. The cabin has lots of room for a family with all the ammeneties including full kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine, BBQ, etc. The owner does a great job with upgrades. Romie was wonderful and really took care of us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
3.0 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#9 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Mountain Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Mountain Chalets

Property: Mammoth Mountain Chalets
Address: 11000 Minaret Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Top! Mammoth Mountain Chalets. Providing the most unique and exclusive lodging for your premier alpine get-away. Our fully equipped ski in, ski out chalets are nestled in the trees just above the main lodge, putting the Mammoth Mountain Chalets at the highest elevation in Mammoth. Upon arrival, a vintage snow-cat will shuttle you and your belongings to and from your chalet. During your stay, enjoy having direct access to the Mammoth Mountain ski- slopes, hiking and mountain biking trails. For your convenience, we make sure our walking & skiing trails are groomed daily. Feel at home by your wood-burning fire while your children sled and play right in front of your chalet. Enjoy a quick shuttle down to the village where one can find countless restaurants, shopping and Nightlife, or in the summer, take it to discover Reds meadows, The Gateway to the Sierras. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing