We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with delicious hot breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2010

This hotel had some wonderful features. Covered parking was appreciated, as it snowed the night we were there. Very friendly, helpful, front desk staff and restaurant staff. They even had an indoor swimming pool. We saw a family using it on the way up to our room.
We booked a room with a king bed and separate sleeper sofa. We like to use the sofa to sit on while we watch tv and have our drinks and snacks. We were very happy to see a HUGE flat screened TV when we walked into the room. The room also had a coffee maker, microwave and fridge. The sink area was separated from the bathroom, another nice feature. The free wifi worked well while we were there.
After driving all day we didn't feel like looking for a restaurant in town. Lucky for us, the hotel has a very good restaurant, Cafe 203! The restaurant has the appearance of a diner, bright lights and some booths. On Wednesdays through Sundays they serve EXCELLENT Indian food! You can also find pizza, burgers, sandwiches, soups and salads. They also offer wine and beer. Our server, Marta, was one of the nicest servers I've ever met.
After dinner we wandered back upstairs to our room and had an excellent sleep in the huge king bed.
The bedroom window can be opened for fresh air sleeping.
A nice HOT breakfast was served in Cafe 203. There is a choice of cereals, fruits, ( fresh strawberries and cantalope were served when we were there), breads, juices, bacon, scrambled eggs plain and scrambled eggs with fresh veggies, potatos, and outstanding home made salsa. The cook will also make french toast or pancakes for you if you ask. We ate our fill and were on our way.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFOF/A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

732 - 738 of 868 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2010

This is an OK hotel. Set in Mammoth Lakes it's probably the leading hotel around for miles. That doesn't excuse the décor though. This hotel needs a facelift. The room we had had just had the carpets shampooed. The stroke marks were still on the carpet and it was damp against my feet.

TINY bathroom with what I've noticed before to be the split shower/WC and wash basin. I don't like this feature.

WiFi is patchy. When I did get connected, it dropped a bit. My top tip here, use Google's DNS service. This requires a bit of know-how with your computer, but the Nomadix service is crap. There was a review here on TA about this but I'd agree that it's bad, but there are ways around it.

Breakfast is nice here, although the altitude sickness I had later wasn't helped by the breakfast.

This is a nice hotel to stay at. We were on our way from Vegas to see Bodie and Yosemite so it's a nice place to crash. Bit expensive in my view also for a not-full service hotel. There is a bar here and a pool. Both looked uninviting. But being off the beaten track doesn't forgive this hotel for falling down on décor and general ambiance.

Word to families!!! - I noticed the windows in the room can be opened fully. I love this because I can breathe in the fresh mountain air, but 2 floors up, a kid could easily get killed here. Just be careful with the windows!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

If you don't care about access to the internet, this hotel is top-notch; but if you do, beware.

I have a Mac and spent two frustrating days trying to get consistent uninterrupted access to the internet, despite several efforts of the staff to "re-boot" the system. They even sent the tech guy to our room several times - to no avail. In all, I missed two days (both days we were there) of internet access and therefore, business activity. Even their business center had a problem, with only one of the two available computers working.

I don't know if other brands of computers would have similar problems, but I do know that, in all my travels, this was the WORST computer access I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highsierragm, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2010

We are very thankful for this feedback. Internet connectivity and speed are a priority for our guests and we recognize this. We are currently upgrading our internet access system to address these concerns and will have the new system operational by December 15, 2010. We have also increased our bandwidth. It is our hope that this will provide a clean and seamless internet experience for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We overnighted here on our way from Yosemite to Death Valley. The lobby is elegant, and our room was as beautifully decorated as a 4-5-star hotel, with attractive bed spreads and quality linens. The indoor pool, located just off the lobby and with windows to the outdoors, was large and the water temperature was pleasant. There is also a hot tub. The parking lot includes some covered parking spaces, which must be a real plus during ski season.

Just a few miles away is the Devil's Postpile National Monument--well worth the short drive and walk when the weather is dry. Two workmen were completing a gravel ramp to make the monument accessible to visitors in wheelchairs.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Googleland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

The hotel provided what we expected, a reasonable room at a reasonable price. Function over form.
Could be cleaner. Stains on carpet - my partner didn't want to walk around in bare feet!
Recommend going to Moguls restaurant nearby as that was fantastic, great service and good value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

On our way to Las Vegas we found this BW hotel and liked it a lot. Receptionist was more than friendly and so was the bartender. Both our rooms were clean and the beds were very good. We didn't use the swimming pool but it looked nice. There is a shop with postcards, drinks, newspapers and so on. Breakfast was wonderful with freshly baked pancakes and you could order what kind of eggs you wanted. We really have a good impression of this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hetden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

This hotel wins because there are so many BAD choices (read the reviews) in Mammoth Lakes, a ski town filled with unfriendly people. Many of the hotels do not have air conditioning as they are primarily ski resorts. The price wasn't worth it for this room even with the significant discount I received, but my stay was comfortable.

We stayed in a queen double and the beds were comfortable. There was a desk & chair and one other small wood/upholstered chair as well as a microwave & refrigerator. It was nicely furnished but not commensurate with the price. The wall AC unit cooled the room down very quickly. Nice indor pool and jacuzzi. The property is well maintained and was formerly a Holiday Inn. It has covered parking which would be a big plus during the winter. A super deluxe hot breakfast is complimentary, served from the small restaurant located in the hotel and it was very good. We did not eat lunch or dinner there.

The front desk was professional but not friendly. Housekeepers do not speak English but the rooms are clean. Watch out when makiing local calls as anything outside the town is billable.

I got a good rate by watching the website and rebooked the morning I was to fly out for vacation. I happened to find a 3-night slot that mgmt was willing to discount. But that was one too many days for this puffed up town, and I won't be back to visit. But it would be hard to find anyone in town who cared anyway.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeenEnough2Know
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.9 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
840 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,158 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
447 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel

Address: 3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $170 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western High Sierra Hotel is conveniently located in Mammoth Lakes near shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Our newly renovated hotel has beautiful guest rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, business center, game room, and our very own Cafe 203 complete with evening lounge. From our standard rooms with a king or two queen beds, to our suites with kitchenettes, we have a variety of accommodations to satisfy any desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing