We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good hotel and location.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel and location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was minutes away from lakes. The room was a good size. The bathroom was clean. Housekeeping did a great job. The indoor pool was great. The free breakfast was good and featured eggs, sausages, pancakes, etc. My only complaint was the price of the room, I booked it initially using mu government employee discount, but before the trip they notified me that they would not honor it , because my trip was for pleasure and not official business. I mean, does it matter? They should be happy that somebody was staying at their hotel for pleasure. So I had to use my AAA discount instead.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepe97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Pepe97
Thank you for staying with us to enjoy the area! Please remember that the government per diem rate is established as a rate that the government is willing to reimburse you when you travel for work. Some hotels will give it to you regardless of whether you are there to work or play, however this should not be expected, When you are not getting reimbursed by the government, you are not entitled to receive this $70 discount. Glad you had a good stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    310
    69
    27
    24
See reviews for
297
283
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We reserved the room through hotels.com, and paid for it. In morning there was a piece of paper slipped under our door. They had slapped on almost 30 dollars more than we originally was informed we should pay through hotels.com. This was tax, but it should had beed included in the amount we reserved the room for. They blamed hotels.com, but they should know this and this should not have happened.

Be aware of that you can't pay for the room through hotels.com when you reserve the room, you have to wait to checkout. People will reserve a room at the hotel because it looks like it is almost 30 dollars cheaper than it really is (through hotels.com). I choose to believe that they know about this, and they this is a way for them to dishonestly make money.

They had a business center, but it was 6,95 for 15 minutes. Insane. I wanted to use it because I had some software problems with my computer. i guess I had to wait for the next hotel.

At the check-in I got listed up the longest list of rules and information I have ever heard. I guess if we broke any one of the we would be in trouble. I did not feel very welcome.

I'll give them the rating of 2 because of the cleanliness of the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oslo_hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Oslo_hiker,
Let me start off saying that we are not hotels.com. They are a separate booking agency that pulls our information and presents it to the guest as they wish. Unfortunately, this is often misleading which is why we always suggest booking directly with the hotel. You are right in saying that potential guests will book these sites because they think they are getting a better deal but please please read ALL of the details so that you know what to expect. You not reading these details does not make us dishonest. You actually had an opportunity to address this misunderstanding at check in when we asked you initial for the rate + tax that you were to pay for your stay. Please once again read what you are signing for.

As for the business center, you must be thinking of another hotel as we have never charged to use our business center. We have two computers with a printer/fax and don't even charge for paper (as long as you aren't printing 50 copies).

I'm sorry that you didn't feel welcomed. The information that we provide to you is so that there are no surprises during your stay. Surprises such as a bear breaking into your car because we didn't inform you remove all food and trash out of it.

I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your travels without any more misunderstandings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Easy in and out of Mammoth location for summer activities in the area. I visited the hotel during the summer time, staff was pleasant and welcoming. The hotel was clean, the free hot breakfast was a nice plus. A gas station is adjacent to the property which makes it easy for refueling and to obtain basic groceries and drinks. The internet connection was on the poor side, although the signal was good the connection was slow. The location of the hotel is good for the outdoor opportunities in the area. Parking was easy and convenient.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms may have a poor view to the parking lot, storage facility or street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Totinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Malfunctions reported: Bath light/fan did not work. Deadbolt door lock was broken. Best breakfast included ever experienced. Noise neighboring car wash and barking dogs. Wrong room assigned on first try by careless desk clerk.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Richard C
Thank you for your review. Please know that when you provide us with a special request, we will do our best to accommodate them but there will be times when we can't. It is not carelessness but rather an attempt to not inconvenience you with the installation of hallway carpet that made us put you on the first floor rather than your requested third floor. I'm glad that we were able to resolve the maintenance issues that you had as soon as you let us know but please always let us know about loud dogs or children so that we can ask those guests to keep it down. As for the car wash, they are required to shut it down by 9PM so if it continues please let us know so that we can call them. I'm glad that you at least enjoyed the complimentary hot buffet breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay there! The staff was very helpfull and frienldy, our room (appartment with 2 separate sleeping rooms) was big, comfortable and clean. We enjoyed the kitchen, that allowed us to avoid one more restaurant adn cook ourself.
The beakfeast was great in a nice and big room located in the local indian restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

I really enjoyed our stay here. The location and price cannot be beat. You are located in the middle of town so very conveniently close to everything, while still a short drive to the ski lodges. The woman at check-in was very polite. The room size was good. The view was of a wall of the next building over, but I was there to ski, not look out the window so I did not care about that. The exercise room is very tiny, but it was always empty when I was there, so it did not matter. We used the indoor spa...very nice. The room had a refrigerator and microwave. Oh, and I almost forgot, breakfast was included! Such a great start to the day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trojankelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rancho palos verdes, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Probably one of the best overall values in Mammoth. Very nice indoor pool & spa, some covered parking, free full hot breakfast, good clean rooms. The most important feature is the friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Russel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Hello Russel H
Thank you for your excellent review! We receive many compliments on our staff...thank you for pointing that out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#8 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
#12 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
Address: 3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western High Sierra Hotel is conveniently located in Mammoth Lakes near shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Our newly renovated hotel has beautiful guest rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, business center, game room, and our very own Cafe 203 complete with evening lounge. From our standard rooms with a king or two queen beds, to our suites with kitchenettes, we have a variety of accommodations to satisfy any desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing