We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Well staffed for most of the time. Some staff need better training as in the breakfast staff. Great rooms, comfortable beds. Clean and roomy. Definitely great place to stay. Pool clean and welcoming. Easy to find good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jessicanolanbowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 917 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

We go to Mammoth once or twice a year, and we always stay at the Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel. It's priced well, extremely clean, the hotel staff is helpful and courteous, always welcoming and their breakfast buffet is great. Laura at the front desk is very helpful and welcoming. She helped us find a great place for our boys to play this past weekend during our visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 990linag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Hello
Thank you for your compliments. When we hire, we look for those with friendly professional attitudes and we are glad that we found Laura...she is a keeper. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The room is bigger than regular hotel room. We had 3 adults 2 queen beds, still dont feel crowded. Like the 3 drawers dresser to put all the ski hats/gloves/clothes in. Free wifi in the room is convenient. Has a desk and round table with chairs, convenient if you like to work on computer and eat in the room.

The breakfast is my favorite. Has fresh cantalope, watermelon, banana, orange, apple. Also cereal, hot pancakes, eggs/sausage etc. So you can load up before heading to the slopes. Good value for Mammoth on the Main street. Covered parking so dont have to clean the snow in the morning. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobolee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Hello Bobolee,
Thank you for your wonderful review!! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Booked midweek for $120+tax/ night. Weekends are $190+tax/night. Had 2 queen beds, non-smoking, free wifi, pool, laundry, and free breakfast. It was a total bargain. It's simple accommodations but clean and updated. Had key cards that you wave in front of the door. Room had mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. 27" flat screen tv with cable. Wifi works in all rooms. They also have a business center with 2 computers and free printing. Breakfast included hot foods, like pancakes, eggs, sausage, bacon, bagels, and potatoes. Also had cereal, yogurt, cantaloupe, and OJ. The hotel is located on Main St (hidden behind Chevron) about 10 minutes drive from Mammoth main lodge. Parking is outside but covered. Daily cleaning service. They accept pets. Was quiet and comfortable. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a hotel room in the back on the third level for peace and quiet. Rooms in the back are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

A good cheap place to share costs with your snowboard buddies but don't expect to take your wife for a peaceful romantic getaway as it is kind of noisey. I suppose if it's the off season in the summer months you could request to be relocated to another room but during the winter months at peak ski season it's not likely they will have any extra rooms so you will be stuck with foot stomps or noisey kids if that's the case.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Nicolas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Hello Nicolas,
Sorry to hear about the noise. When we are busy, it is hard to move folks into different rooms, but we do always do our best to contact those noisy guests to get them to control their noise. To reduce a noisy neighbor, request to be on the 3rd floor so no one is above you. Do this a few days prior to your arrival as we pre assign our rooms in the morning. We even do have some more romantic suites that are in quieter locations in the hotel. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

considering the price! i don't think there is a better option in mammoth, great rooms with comfortable beds, best continental breakfast in town. i looked for a condo but couldn't find anything under $200 a night after fee's and more fee's, this hotel had everything we needed for under $200 with fee's... i'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Trenon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Hi Trenon
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. Many lodging facilities do indeed charge a resort fee which we do not. Here, you won't find yourself stuck with hidden fees. We'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife and I have been season pass holders to Mammoth for years. We stay here the majority of the time, and have been staying here ever since it opened under a different franchise. The staff is well trained, professional and always friendly, just awesome . The hotel well set-up and maintained. The owner always seems to want to keep this property current, and is conscious of upgrading the hotel periodically. We highly recommend staying here. It is a great dollar value.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor facing the pool seem to be quieter and more convenient. For a splurge, try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisgolfpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Hi Chrisgolfpro
Your review is just awesome, thank you!!! Glad to hear that we've become your home away from home. Looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.9 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
871 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,530 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel

Address: 3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $186 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western High Sierra Hotel is conveniently located in Mammoth Lakes near shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Our newly renovated hotel has beautiful guest rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, business center, game room, and our very own Cafe 203 complete with evening lounge. From our standard rooms with a king or two queen beds, to our suites with kitchenettes, we have a variety of accommodations to satisfy any desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing