We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A total steal!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
310 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
“A total steal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Booked midweek for $120+tax/ night. Weekends are $190+tax/night. Had 2 queen beds, non-smoking, free wifi, pool, laundry, and free breakfast. It was a total bargain. It's simple accommodations but clean and updated. Had key cards that you wave in front of the door. Room had mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. 27" flat screen tv with cable. Wifi works in all rooms. They also have a business center with 2 computers and free printing. Breakfast included hot foods, like pancakes, eggs, sausage, bacon, bagels, and potatoes. Also had cereal, yogurt, cantaloupe, and OJ. The hotel is located on Main St (hidden behind Chevron) about 10 minutes drive from Mammoth main lodge. Parking is outside but covered. Daily cleaning service. They accept pets. Was quiet and comfortable. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a hotel room in the back on the third level for peace and quiet. Rooms in the back are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    315
    71
    28
    24
See reviews for
312
287
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mammoth Lakes, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

A good cheap place to share costs with your snowboard buddies but don't expect to take your wife for a peaceful romantic getaway as it is kind of noisey. I suppose if it's the off season in the summer months you could request to be relocated to another room but during the winter months at peak ski season it's not likely they will have any extra rooms so you will be stuck with foot stomps or noisey kids if that's the case.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hello Nicolas,
Sorry to hear about the noise. When we are busy, it is hard to move folks into different rooms, but we do always do our best to contact those noisy guests to get them to control their noise. To reduce a noisy neighbor, request to be on the 3rd floor so no one is above you. Do this a few days prior to your arrival as we pre assign our rooms in the morning. We even do have some more romantic suites that are in quieter locations in the hotel. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

considering the price! i don't think there is a better option in mammoth, great rooms with comfortable beds, best continental breakfast in town. i looked for a condo but couldn't find anything under $200 a night after fee's and more fee's, this hotel had everything we needed for under $200 with fee's... i'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Trenon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi Trenon
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. Many lodging facilities do indeed charge a resort fee which we do not. Here, you won't find yourself stuck with hidden fees. We'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
251 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife and I have been season pass holders to Mammoth for years. We stay here the majority of the time, and have been staying here ever since it opened under a different franchise. The staff is well trained, professional and always friendly, just awesome . The hotel well set-up and maintained. The owner always seems to want to keep this property current, and is conscious of upgrading the hotel periodically. We highly recommend staying here. It is a great dollar value.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor facing the pool seem to be quieter and more convenient. For a splurge, try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisgolfpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi Chrisgolfpro
Your review is just awesome, thank you!!! Glad to hear that we've become your home away from home. Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

The staff was very pleasant and helpful and the accommodations were a great value. Covered parking was a huge plus, as was the indoor pool. The room was comfortable and provided sufficient room to relax as well as complete any necessary work. Location is excellent though a little difficult to find at first.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi Dennis
Thank you for your nice review. Hopefully we'll be able to get a bigger sign someday soon, in the mean time look for Kitteredge sports and the Chevron...we are between the two. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Hotel was great for us. We had stayed there the year before too. It is near bus stop so we d not need to drive a car to the mountain to snowboard. There was some weird smells in the hallways each day, but the room was fine. The breakfast in the morning is basic, but is just enough to get you ready for a great day of snowboarding.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DANIEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

My kids loved the indoor heated pool and the family room option with the bunk bed was a huge hit! The bunk bed for the kids is seperated from the queen bed in the room by a wall and it has its own tv for the kids! We were very happy with our stay here and im sure we will use this location again the next time we visit Mammoth Lakes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi Christopher,
Thank you for your great review! The kids suite is definitely a hit with our visiting families. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#21 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
Address: 3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western High Sierra Hotel is conveniently located in Mammoth Lakes near shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Our newly renovated hotel has beautiful guest rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, business center, game room, and our very own Cafe 203 complete with evening lounge. From our standard rooms with a king or two queen beds, to our suites with kitchenettes, we have a variety of accommodations to satisfy any desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing