We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay.”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Check-in was straightforward although the guy on duty could have been a little more upbeat!
Spacious room and bathroom, clean and comfortable. All in all a good place to stay and a very convenient stopover on the last night of our travels, if a little more expensive than I would have expected. Reasonable choice at the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whispycl0ud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    324
    76
    29
    26
See reviews for
325
293
33
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgecrest, California
2 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stay here last Saturday November 2nd, with some friends, we went for a wedding to Mammoth. They checked us in around noon, (that was a plus, thank you so much), but when the front desk girl, ask my friend is he is renting an additional room due he has 3 children ( 5, 9, 13 year old) it was ridicules, how can you ask something like that? She came with this ridicules excuse, that they can have no more than 4 guest per room, and that the Fire department will give them a fine.... for real??? We ask to talk with her manager, and she replied... That is not possible, he is not in available, and she make it very clear that my friend has to rent and additional room $133.00 for a 5 year old.. , Then my husband ask how much more we have to pay for the little girl, and then she call her manager ( how was not available 2 min before) and the manager said $10.00 more and that they don't have roll away beds...???? we never asked for one!!! Ridicules!!!.... After that we stay with this bad taste, no matter how nice was the hotel, when you have this awful costumer service. It will be easy if from the begin she states that there will be an additional charge for the 3rd child, and not come up with this stupid story about the fire department. Rude... that is no way to tread your costumer this way, don't you realize that you are working in hospitality....
The rooms were clean, excellent hot breakfast (fresh eggs, not from microwave), pool good, well location. "Almost perfect"

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Super Eight R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Eliza,
I am sorry to hear that you felt that we were being dishonest. What the agent told you about our maximum room occupancy and the fire code were accurate. There is a maximum of 4 per room. The front desk agent is not allowed to override that policy which is why she inquired about a second room. As I was on vacation, she was hesitant to bother me which is why she informed him that I was not available and then decided to call me anyway so that she could take care of him. As we do try to work with our guests, I gave the agent permission to allow 5 persons in that room only charging him for his third adult (the 13 yr old) per standard policy. All hotels have restrictions and cost variances for the number of adults so please make sure to read those when booking. I am glad, however, that you enjoyed our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed there for 4 days in October 2013. Basic Best Western nbut all staff very halpful and smiling. Staff warn about leaving any signs of food in your car as bears had been known to break into cars rooting for food. None when we were there!
Well situated for Yosemite Park (which had just re-opened after the Government dispute of pay), Squaw Valley and lots of hikes locally.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pju4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

There are lots of nice places to stay in Mammoth, but few are an excellent value. The Best Western of Mammoth is a great value with a staff that cares. The rooms are nicely appointed and the beds give us a great nights sleep. They also have one of the best breakfast buffets around and will even cook eggs to order upon request. We come to Mammoth often and always feel welcome at the Best Western.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Couple_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is absolutely the best Best Western Plus hotel we have stayed in. The staff at the reception is very welcoming, the overall atmosphere is cosy and both the rooms and the general areas are spotless! Wireless internet access is fast, and there is a good laundry facility. They offer an outstanding breakfast, with a variety of fresh fruit and a wide choice of cereals, buns and hot dishes. We only stayed for the night, as we had a reservation in Yosemite, otherwise we would have been happy to extend our stay for a couple of days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinNETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear KarenNETH
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are indeed a great option as you make your way to the spectacular Yosemite National Park. Hope you enjoyed all of your travels in the US.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I recently held a photography workshop in the eastern Sierras and used this hotel as my base lodging. From the booking/reservation process on thru our stay, I can't say enough about how well we were treated. Emily really took care of the process in a very pleasant and professional manner, even introducing herself upon my arrival.
The rooms were great. Clean, modern and comfortable. Just what we needed after a long day in the field. By the way, the breakfast included with our rooms was quite good and the price was right.
It was near decent eateries and stores making it a great location for us.
I will definitely be using this hotel for future workshop lodging for my clients.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you John for your kind words. It was my pleasure to take care of you and your photography workshop participants. We work with many groups from tour buses to car and motorcycle rallies and love working with you all. I look forward to seeing you next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My family and I visited your fine establishment, October 19th, 2013, there in Mammoth Lakes and have to say our overall treatment and comfort was top notch. What really impressed us and made us start our stay off on a very good note was your desk clerk employee, Pamela. She made us feel welcome the beginning we walked through the door. She gave us kind suggestions about the local area and truly made us feel like we were at home. Her friendly demeanor helped us check in early without making the situation awkward. In a world rattled with ugly complaints---I thought its time for someone such as Pamela to get a brownie point instead.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBG5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.9 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
787 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
807 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Address: 3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western High Sierra Hotel is conveniently located in Mammoth Lakes near shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Our newly renovated hotel has beautiful guest rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, business center, game room, and our very own Cafe 203 complete with evening lounge. From our standard rooms with a king or two queen beds, to our suites with kitchenettes, we have a variety of accommodations to satisfy any desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing