We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family hotel near the slopes.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good family hotel near the slopes.”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nothing is inexpensive in Mammoth during ski season, especially during President's Week when lots of families are on winter break. We were just staying for three nights, not long enough to rent a condo, so we used TripAdvisor to seek out a hotel that didn't break our budget. We were pleased with the Best Western High Sierra. While not "ski in - ski out", it was a short drive to the Eagle Lodge where my husband could easily drop me off for my ski day. While I was out skiing, he enjoyed the nice indoor pool and spa at the hotel. There is a small restaurant in the hotel which was convenient the first night when it was snowing heavily and we didn't want to venture out. Many good restaurants are within a short drive. Breakfast is included, microwave and frig are also convenient. On a short trip, we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear OCOzzie,
Thank you for your fine review and for making our Presidents holiday a success. The Christmas/New Years and the Presidents holidays are the busiest times here in Mammoth Lakes and therefore the most expensive times. I am glad that you stayed with us and found your experience with us to meet or exceed your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again on your next short trip to Mammoth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    331
    77
    30
    29
See reviews for
335
296
34
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, CA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Another late review! this is a nice place to stay in Mammoth, I've been to Mammoth many times over the years, and I really think this is a good clean place to stay, the location is strange, being behind the gas station, but other than that it's nice. You are walking distance to anything you need downtown. Staff were very nice, parking was good, some covered if you need that too.

Room Tip: Not really any great views anywhere, but a nice place to stay in town
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Texblues,
Thank you for your recommendation! We are happy that you finally discovered us and hope that we have now become your new home in Mammoth Lakes. While we are indeed in a good location with easy access to everything in town, we can be a little hard to find. We are, as you know, nestled between Kitteridge Sports and the Chevron gas station. We also do have a few rooms that do have views of the mountains...the next time you visit us, ask for a third floor front facing room and if one is available we will assign you to it. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Skied Mammoth during the cold weather going on in Socal. The hotel room was very comfortable and easy to keep it that way.To many drafty rooms at other properties. This place is one of the quietest places we have stayed. Staff excellent as always. Breakfast hot and good selection. Hotel located next to Kittridge Sports very convenient for ski rentals, waxing skis, picking up odds and ends. Nice restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank RONALD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Ronald S,
Cold weather in Socal means great skiing/snowboarding in Mammoth Lakes so I am glad to hear that you took advantage. We are having a fantastic ski season so far and hope that you and your friends make it up again!! Our rooms are thermostatically controlled so you can have your room as warm or as cool as you like and our location is indeed ideal with lots of retail/rental shops and restaurants near by. Some even give us discount cards so always remember to inquire with the front desk for specials around town.
Thank you for your time in writing us such a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had a great time at this hotel. Staff was nice, and the Continental Breakfast was better then most other hotels. It is an easy walk to the bus which will take you directly to the mountain. Look forward to staying here again on our next trip to Mammoth.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DANIEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Daniel B,
Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us including the Complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast to get your day started right.
We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.9 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
796 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Address: 3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western High Sierra Hotel is conveniently located in Mammoth Lakes near shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Our newly renovated hotel has beautiful guest rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, business center, game room, and our very own Cafe 203 complete with evening lounge. From our standard rooms with a king or two queen beds, to our suites with kitchenettes, we have a variety of accommodations to satisfy any desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing