We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here after Yosemite and before heading back to Reno. Our room was clean and spacious. The buffet breakfast was served in a small cafe that is a part of the motel. The staff was great and very friendly. The indoor pool and jacuzzi were conveniently located. On site laundry room. It was summer, so the resort area was not crowed, but was beautiful. We were warned about there being bears in the area and needed to remove ALL food from our vehicle. We then had the excitement of actually seeing a small brown bear rifling through the trash in the gas station next door!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 897 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed in a few Best Western (mostly PLUS) on our trip, and this one was no exception - clean and spacious rooms, good breakfast, and very friendly staff. In fact, we had the most friendly lady at check-in ever. She gave us lots of good tips and took a lot of time to make us feel comfortable - even had time for a chat later on when she asked how our day had been. This really makes a big difference!

All other staff members we met were very friendly too by the way.

The hotel restaurant surprisingly servers Indian food (hotel owner apparently is Indian), and since we absolutely love Indian food, we decided to try it out (together with some of the local beer). Huge serving, and really good quality - we loved it. Highly recommended!

I would definitely stay here again, if just for the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjoernski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear bjoemski,
We are very happy that you had such a good time while visiting us. We do our best to hire front desk agents who are personable and eager to help our guests enjoy their time in Mammoth Lakes and it sounds like we delivered. It has now been 2 years having Indian food in our in-house cafe, Cafe 203. I am pleased that you enjoyed your evening meal and drinks with us! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Spacious clean rooms. Fast check in and great food right across the street. The free shuttle stops just up the road and goes into the resort part of town.

We didn't use the pool but those that did were complaining about the chlorine level.

Breakfast was buffet style with the normal fair plus bacon and sausage.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coyotek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Very clean and comfortable, large rooms friendly staff,standard buffet breakfast fare, overall,a really nice hotel. Low bandwidth with the free wifi with no "buy up" option is only complaint. Indoor pool and hot tub, decent fitness center are a nice touch. Not inexpensive but for a resort area, still reasonable.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Johnp1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We arrived after a long day of driving and were glad to discover our room had a huge bathtub and bunk beds for our son. Thr room was clean and quiet, breakfast was decent and the front desk staff was friendly. We would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Minidriver64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

one of the 10 hotels we stayed at during our 16 night trip to west USA , 8 Harley's and 1 car
stayed 1 nights here , booked through the hotel site
Nice rooms , comfortable beds , worth the 3*
This hotel had the best check inn during our 16 day trip , even comparing the 5* hotels we stayed at
All the paperwork was ready , we received lots of information about the hotel and the restaurants surrounding us , in short , we felt really welcome here
Location is OK also ; walking distance to restaurants
Breakfast buffet included in the rates
would come here again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemo5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Hello Gemo5566,
We appreciate your wonderful review!! Through out the summer, many motorcycle guests visit our hotel and we love having you here. Best Western offers a fantastic motorcycle rider rewards program which I hope you have taken advantage of. We look forward to seeing you all again the next time you travel the Western USA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

First of all,when we got there we got our room and there was new carpeting in the room they gave us and the smell was just overwhelming! We went back to the desk and explained that the room was unacceptable.So I asked for a different room,and the place was booked. But they went out of their way to fix the situation. They gave us a room that had existing carpeting and that was just fine. The room was good. Breakfast was delicious!!! Internet however,was spotty and unreliable. That was the only flaw that i could see. The bed was comfortable. The shower had great pressure and hot water. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelrvwr_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Dear Hotelrwr,
Thank you for your feedback! I am happy to hear that we were able to move things around to get you into a room without the new carpet smell and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Being in a small town with limited internet bandwidth, we sometimes encounter slower connections than what most people are accustomed to in the larger communities. Inside the hotel, we have installed the best equipment that we can for the bandwidth that we are able to utilize. There are also plans in the surrounding area to acquire more bandwidth which will help with this issue. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.9 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
862 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,183 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
869 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel

Address: 3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $147 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western High Sierra Hotel is conveniently located in Mammoth Lakes near shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Our newly renovated hotel has beautiful guest rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, business center, game room, and our very own Cafe 203 complete with evening lounge. From our standard rooms with a king or two queen beds, to our suites with kitchenettes, we have a variety of accommodations to satisfy any desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing