We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rafter's Needs Reality Check....”

Rafters Restaurant and Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Rafters Restaurant and Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 90 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Mammoth Landmark since 1967, Rafters has been reborn as a world class restaurant under the ownership of James and Nancy Demetriades. Chef Brian Keipler presents New California cuisine complimented by one of Mammoth's most extensive wine lists and perfectly crafted cocktails. Now serving breakfast and dinner, and providing room service to Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa next door. Happy Hour 4pm-7pm and live music in the lounge every Thursday, Friday and Saturday night.
Lake Forest, California
2 reviews
“Rafter's Needs Reality Check....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Not a large dinner selection, my meal was satisfactory, but for the price expected better. Breakfast was very good, but slow service. Had to chase someone down just to be seated.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaKari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    79
    42
    19
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mammoth Lakes, California
2 reviews
“What a Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were so lucky to have Rafters on the campus of the Sierra Nevada Resort. Casual elegance! The presentation for every dish I either ate or saw come out of the kitchen was a work of art! That doesn't always mean that the food will be as delicious as it looks...unless you eat here! The brunch has a cheese and fruit plate to die for and the eggs benedict is as good as I've ever had! Dinner is another treat with a menu that has something delicious for everyone's taste! Amazing wine selection for both by the glass and by the bottle! Very comfortable outdoor seating overlooking the Eastern slope of Yosemite National Park and inside seating with a very cozy ambiance!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food and nice ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This place is very stylish, has a killer bar and ambiance. My salad and top sirloin steak were beyond good. Best wine list I've seen in the mountains!!! Their waiters were very attentive and polite. Highly recommend!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JuliaBernardini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway nh
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Poor service with 3 waitstaff talking at bar not paying mind to us. Meatballs were raw and brought back close to the same condition. For $ 18.50 the whole nite sucked

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zzpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bad for the family”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stopped by the Rafters as it was our last night after a wonderful week in Mammoth. We had our 2 grandchildren with us. The group of 7 ordered and one meal was left off the order so came very late, after everyone else had eaten. The portions were very small, the children's hamburger was very overdone, and the pizza was too cheesy! Worst of all,the manager refused to make the loss of one meal right by us. We come to Mammoth every year and will not return to the Rafters!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nevadatraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafters Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Rafters Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing