We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to visit with kids”

Hot Creek Fish Hatchery
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The entry point for millions of trout eggs, this is one of the main hatcheries in California's fish-stocking program.
los angeles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good place to visit with kids”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We just took our kids there and considering they didn't catch any fish for the past two days, they liked seeing all the fish. Make sure you take quarters to buy fish food as there is no change available there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bizskitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Here Fishy, Fishy”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

A typical hatchery, some basis things to see but other hatcheries let you see more. There is no shade. Kinda felt sorry for the fish.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CanonMinolta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
144 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Pretty neat!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I really enjoyed this beautiful hachtery! The views are amazing. It's a little hard to find off the HWY 395; the only thing telling you that it's there is a brown sign with a fish on it. After you make that turn there is better signage. It's worth the stop! Lots of fish! Very nice! Hours are 9-3.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sleepyhollow420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One fish, Two fish”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

It was awesome! Loved the fish hatchery. In addition to the fish, there was much wildlife around, again, lots of birds!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank edwardsk8e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City San Fernando, State California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Side trip for kids”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Let me say that I love fishing so I wish I could drop a line here. There are trout that have to be 6-7 pounds. Anyways we took our kids and nephews and they just loved feeding the fish as they watched the fish go crazy for the food. I think I had more fun watching my kids than watching the fish.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MexVacationing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Creek Fish Hatchery also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Hot Creek Fish Hatchery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing