We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for beginners”

Mammoth Mountain Bike Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular spot to rent mountain bikes and equipment for a day of biking on Mammoth Mountain.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not for beginners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Love this place - I compare everything to it. Great maintained trails - nothing easy - all intermediate. Full Suspension or Nothing! Hardtails not recommended. Rent a bike for best results unless you are sporting a $3000 downhill bike of your own.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DJLuvBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    14
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome bike park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Lots of trails with varying difficulty levels. Our favorite run was from the midway gondola, Recoil trail to Twilight Zone. The pavers laid on the trail were like nothing we've ridden before. The jumps weren't too big, but challenging to clear and the wooden slat banked bridges and ladders were new features that were super fun to ride. Also liked the different take offs for different ability levels. Staff was great, loaded and unloaded the bikes for you so it wasn't an issue.
Highly recommend for average to advanced mountain bike riders looking for downhilling adventure.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Need more green runs - but super fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

New to downhill Mountain Biking, I was very hesitant to go all the way up to the top of the mountain to bike down. The only green runs available were lower down in the Discovery Zone or Downtown which took you back to the lodge to be shuttled up. That was very fun, but I would've liked to explore the mountain a bit more.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 974Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Only Chairlift 11 is suitable for kids/teens, rest of terrain is for EXPERTS only”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have been skiing here since 1972. First time we went up in summer. My 10-year-old and I brought our own bikes. Only Chair 11 is suitable for kids/teens and adults who aren't X-Game champs! We loved the trails on Chair 11 but it got boring after a while. I wish there was much more terrain/trails for us. The rest of the mountain is extremely steep and challenging. We tried to go down McCoys (mid-chalet) to the bottom (which is easy for us on snow skis) and it was REALLY steep on a bike! I would recommend Chair 11 trails for kids who are very good bike riders. Over-priced also.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiSandLLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place for Mountain Biking!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

My son had been begging to mountain bike so we decided to try it and loved it!! We did the easy route down the mountain that ended at The Village. It was great for kids, families and beginners. They even had a drink station midway down which provided a nice break. The only downfall was the price. It was pricey for bike rentals, etc. Then again, it is to be expected in the mountain resort areas. We would definitely do this again!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlong3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mammoth Mountain Bike Park also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Mammoth Mountain Bike Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing