We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldies but goldies”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Nice vintage hotel
Very large and clean room
Hot swimming pool and jacuzzi for the sunset
Very friendly staff
Good restaurant
Plenty of activities to do in the area in summer : we were there for hiking and the lake area is a fantastic play ground.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TnJiPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,439)
There are newer reviews for Mammoth Mountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 663 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

The night before I stayed at the mammoth mountain inn I spent at the Grand Sierra Resort in Reno. MMI provided the contrast I needed. A touch of old world with genuine charm. Plenty of hiking options immediately you walk out the door with a shuttle bus option to some of the most fantastic walking sites in the eastern sierras.
What a great place to also bring kids of all ages with rock wall climbing, zip lines, mountain biking, trampoline trapezes and game activities literally on the doorstep.
While Reno was bright lights and plastic MMI was mountain air, tall pine forests and a connection with natural beauty that I appreciate.
The automated staff responses of the casino based accommodation was replaced by a much more personal greeting that set the tone for a relaxed visit.
While MMI must be perfect in winter as the lifts to the top of the mountain are just outside the front door this place is a great option for a summertime visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountain.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed as part of a tour. Beautiful scenery without snow would love to see it with snow. Various buildings set around the grounds, our room was at the end of a long corridor which had clearly had many leaks with a very marked ceiling and carpets, you could also smell a very musty smell. Our room was very large with a separate lounge/kitchen area. The bathroom was quite small but everything there you need. Being only 5ft I struggled with the bed as it was so high! Once in the bed it was very comfortable. Again the room smelt musty and you could see the stains on the ceiling where the water had come through. This hotel could really be beautiful if only some money was spent on cleaning carpets and redecorating rooms/ corridors. Restaurant was not bad prices and food was good but very large portions need to share a meal with your partner.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I came with my family for the 4th of July weekend and it's been an amazing experience. Rooms are nice and clean, but the best of this hotel is the service. Totally recommended, especially if you like mountain biking and want to wake up next to the best trails

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTB_Ent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed in this special hotel recently. The staff were all very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay special. The room was comfortable and clean. The housekeeping staff made sure we had the towels our large family needed. We would stay here again. We especially enjoy the cozy updated lobby area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed at the Mammoth Mountain Inn for the first time a few weeks ago...I can't wait to go back. As soon as you walk in you feel like you're in a true mountain lodge. The lobby is warm and inviting, and the reception staff were all really friendly. It looks like it was recently renovated too which is always nice. Huge stone fireplaces with lots of couches for relaxing in just welcome you. The rooms have incredible views of Mammoth mountain and best of all the beds were so comfortable. Some of the best nights sleep I've ever gotten in hotels. Overall you can't beat the location of this amazing lodge. I really can't wait to back in the winter and stay with them again.

Room Tip: Really can't go wrong here but request a room facing the ski resort.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for the last two nights here. The bed was very comfortable the rooms were clean but dingy , they really need to be updated. I Was VERY upset that no one informed us that they had no air conditioning in the room. That may not sound like a big deal but for someone going through hot flashes it's a very big deal.We are also upset that when we booked the room nobody told us that they charge $20 a day to park and for Internet service. The internet service didn't start working well until about 12 1230 1 o'clock in the morning, when no one else was using it. I normally give good reviews but with the money we paid for this room i would have been happier at a motel 6.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mrs1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.9 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
840 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,157 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
524 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
3.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Mountain Inn

Address: 10400 Minaret Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: $130 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mammoth Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the gondola. The Mammoth Mountain Inn is a great place to base your vacation if you want to wake up on the mountain itself. Stay in a recently remodeled craftsman style condo or suite. All rooms have slopeside access in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mammoth Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Mountain Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Hotel Mammoth Mountain
Inn Mammoth Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing