We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Condo, but way too noisy”
Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Village Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Condo, but way too noisy”
Reviewed May 28, 2007

We stayed in a clean, modern condo and were extremely happy until 3:30 a.m. on our first night. We were awakened by a fire alarm. We called the front desk, but the young man had no idea what was going on at the facility. He asked us if the noise was coming from our room. We told him it was an alarm and immediately left the building. Other guests were standing at their balconies, and we had to tell them to evacuate (there was smoke on the first floor), as no hotel representative was present. We ran to the front lobby and told the man behind the desk to call the fire department. He walked over to the building to look before he made the phone call. While all the guests were in the lobby waiting for the fire department, the young gentleman started telling guests that they could probably return to their rooms - we were horrified, and immediately jumped in to tell people to wait for the fire department.

The fire department came (this took over 90 minutes), and we were interviewed by the chief and the property manager. It ended up being a false alarm (kids broke in and sprayed the fire hydrant on the first floor). We finally were able to go back to our rooms a little after 5 a.m. that night. Early in the morning, the front desk called to say that the Assistant Manager wanted to speak with us, and we were to call her. We were told to expect a "slight" refund. We called at least six times over the course of the weekend, and no one returned our calls. To make matters worse, the fire alarm went off again the next night, and it was so noisy each additional night that we did not sleep the entire weekend.

Moreover, during our stay, we had to ask three times before our sheets were changed!!!

When we checked out, we FINALLY met the Assistant Manager. She immediately went on the defensive, and instead of thanking us for our help and apologizing about their lack of a plan. She said that she heard that the Villages did a wonderful job in responding to the incident. We did get a 50% refund on our first night, but I think the Villages could have done more. A simple and sincere apology would have been appreciated. Instead, we got a rehearsed answer with a predetermined outcome.

We have stayed at numerous ski resorts and "villages" in both British Columbia and Colorado. I would HIGHLY suggest renting a private condo for your stay or waiting until the Village at Mammoth works out the kinks in both their communication and fire alarms.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff & Customer Service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AZNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    265
    71
    38
    20
See reviews for
381
230
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2007

Convient shuttle up to the slopes and shopping/food all around!!!!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladybug707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2007

This hotel is way too expensive for what you get. They are trying to make it have a Whistler/upscale feel, but they are not succeeding. When we checked in (during peak New Year's time) there was a shortage of bell staff and the front desk encouraged us to take our own bags, skis, etc. up to our room ourselves, which took about four trips because we didn't have a cart. They never explained the facilities to us, nor did they tell us about ski storage. We called later to ask about ski storage and were told they didn't have any. When we went down to the front desk we asked again and were told that ski lockers existed, but they weren't sure where they were. We asked yet another person who gave us a padlock and some vague instructions on the location of some lockers in the garage somewhere. We ended up storing them ourselves at a location by the gondola, and paying 10 dollars per day. Our room did not have a data cord for our computer, and we read that we could "borrow" one for 25.00. Any decent hotel anywhere that has internet facilities has a data cord ready to plug into the computer. We had a remote control in the bedroom which was for a different brand of TV that was not in our room. I left a note for housekeeping and all they did was remove it, not replace it. Our room had a very funky smell which never went away. For $500.00 per night, we expected some level of service, which the staff at the hotel were not equipped to give. For that kind of money, we could have gone to Whistler, Vail, Aspen,almost anywhere and had great treatment. We will not be back. Staff is aloof and untrained.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor service
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LAIslandHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
175 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2006

My three-star rating is based on my personal dislike for the condos -- I really think a cabin, if you can find one, would be more comfortable -- the condos are well built, but very "tight" and therefore stuffy and I thought unpleasant.

But others may differ, and if you are skiing and want to house 6 people in 3 rooms (or fewer, of course) the location is hard to beat.

I'm posting my review to make it clear that what ever you think of the place, or of Mammoth, you can expect first-rate service when anything goes wrong. At least, in the off season. We made all sorts of calls, and the response was very quick, either to tell us what we didn't know, to replace a light bulb, to get the fireplace working -- you name it, and they fixed it in a matter of minutes. Might not be so good in February, but by then probably everything *has* been fixed. I just cannot say enough about how patient, helpful, and responsive the front desk was -- they even managed to find us a bath bench for a family member who can't easily get in and out of a deep tub.

I'd think if you were there in the high season (winter) and know how horrible it is to have a bad room when the whole town is booked, you might want to think of the Village first. Also, the restaurants in the Village are pretty good) we liked the Side Door) and Whiskey Creek is a short walk away.

  • Liked — Excellent service to fix anything that was wrong
  • Disliked — The tight construction made the place very stuffy.
Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
Thank srca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peotone, Illinois
Level Contributor
151 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2006

Stayed here in August 2006 with family of 5. 2 bedroom/2 bath condo with full kitchen. Nice view of very pretty pool area and mountains. Enjoyed mountain biking one day and day trip to Yosemite another. Plan on long all day trip if you want to see Yosemite. It is a 2.5 hour drive to get to Yosemite Valley. Also rec. shuttle and hike to Devils Postpile and Rainbow Falls. If you have never been here before make sure you know where you are going. Poor signage for Village made us end up at Mammoth Mtn. base area first. No washer/dryer in condo. Only 2 beds in condo and 1 sofa sleeper.

Helpful?
2 Thank empjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 26, 2006

Highly recommend the accomodations at the Village!

We traveled with two children (2 & 8) and found the Village a wonderful place to stay for a family. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Check-in was done quickly. The bellman was accomodating and met us in the garage rather than outside hotel check-in which we appreciated.

The condo offered two bedrooms at opposite ends and a living room, kitchen, dinning room in between. There were three bathrooms and ample closet space. The kitchen was equipped with quiet appliances and plates, dishes, silverware, paper towels, etc. The decor was lovely and the room was clean and in great condition.

Staying on the top level of the hotel was a great choice. We found the hotel very quiet and loved not hearing footsteps above. Our room overlooked the pool and had a nice size balcony. We had an abundance of bath towels, pillows and the hotel staff even provided a pack-n-play (portable crib) for a two year old at no charge.

The only disappointment we had was the gondola closed the Sunday before our arrival. We had to drive or take the shuttle to the slopes which was not very convenient with a young child that needed a daily nap. The child care center was also closed. Be sure to check the closure dates if you need those amenitites.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 13, 2006

I've been to the village many times,and have enjoyed every stay. when you make a reservation ask for a condo in lincoln house facing north towards the pool. you'll get a quiet room and in the summer a cool room since the sun wont be beating into your room, heating up the condo.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,086 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Property: The Village Lodge
Address: 1111 Forest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start and end your day in the heart of Mammoth. The Village's luxurious condos are literally atop all the fun. Stay here to be at the center of town, where there's gondola access to the slopes and loads of dining and shopping options. Rated one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 50 Ski Resort Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing