We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Village Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way to Yosemite. The had a suite room which was fabulous with a view of the mountains. The whole complex has a good atmosphere with a choice of bars and restaurants. The only problem was, we should have stayed for longer! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 808Neilb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of The Village Lodge! Mammoth Lakes is a great stopover from the eastern entrance of Yosemite. I hope the next time you are able to visit us, you are able to stay in your fabulous condo for a little bit longer! We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    280
    76
    40
    20
See reviews for
398
239
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights in late June 2014. We booked a one bedroom condo and it was on the 2nd floor overlooking the village. Thursday night was peaceful but Friday night we were "entertained" by a band that played until about 8:30PM. It may not have been as bad as it was if the music didn't echo between the shops on the 1st level then into our condo.

We were also a bit warm since the standalone A/C unit in the living area made as much racket as the band did. Fortunately, there was a good breeze that we could take advantage of by opening the door to the patio and the window in the bedroom.

Other than that, the pool and hot tub were great (no umbrella's in the pool area). The space of the condo was large and comfortable. It had a full kitchen. There are a number of places to eat and drink within the village area at all price levels. This was our second visit and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MUG318CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind and thorough review of The Village Lodge! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed all of the amenities that came with your condo. I apologize for any noise disturbances and heat issues you encountered during your relaxing vacation. We strive to make your trip as peaceful as possible, and will be taking your feedback into consideration when planning events and looking into different cooling options in the future. Additionally, you are more than welcome to request that your condo be in a certain area of The Village Lodge, and the Front Desk will do its best to accommodate you. Please consider The Village Lodge to be your first stop the next time you come to Mammoth Lakes. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a great location with nearby restaurants and bars plus great views. The apartments are spacious and very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The downside however is that if you are visiting in summer beware there is no air conditioning in the rooms (other than a portable that is noisy and completely ineffective). Not a real problem you would think as its an invitation to open the windows and breath in the mountain air - that is if you don't mind the noise. We have just been subjected to a deafening few hours of one of the most diabolical bands I have ever heard blasting away in the village. During the day we had out of control children screaming at passer-by's from the next balcony. Even in the night there is traffic and pedestrian noise. Maybe its just the otherwise serenity of the setting that accentuates it - but is seriously annoying.

We stooped at Mammoth on a drive from San Francisco to Vegas via Yosemite. Terrific option that we thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of The Village Lodge! I’m glad that our staff and your condo were so accommodating. I apologize for any noise disturbances you encountered during your stay. The Village is definitely the heart of Mammoth, and with that comes a lot of action over the weekends. For your next stay, be sure to request a room facing the pool or forest. The Front Desk will do everything they possibly can to make sure you have a relaxing stay and a quiet unit. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Did a family trip up to Mammoth during the summertime for a vacation and the half marathon. This was my first time up to Mammoth, so I wasn't sure what to expect. Looking into some of the hotels in the area, I chose the Village lodge for the price, location (for the race), and the amenities. Since I was traveling with my whole family, I really wanted a place that had a kitchen, so we didn't have to eat out every meal. We booked a 2 bdrm suite at the Village Lodge and loved it. The room is very very spacious, the beds are really comfortable, the bathroom's are big and it has a Full kitchen. Since we were spending a week there, we easily felt like it was a home away from home.

The place has a feeling of a mini town in that it has a lot of things right on site of the hotel. There's shops, Starbucks, restaurants all in a "village" like setting there. They have outdoor games (bean bag toss, BIG jenga) that you can play and if you are there for skiing, then the lift is literally right on site.

We also used the pool which was heated and very nice. It's central to all the buildings and easy to get to. There's a nice waterfall area and some firepits that you can sit by to warm up on cool nights.

On the particular weekend we were there, there was an outdoor band playing in the courtyard area which is cool for adults, but not for kids that have to go to bed early. We happened to have a room that overlooked the courtyard, so it's good and bad. Nice view, but noisy at night. However they don't play too late and I'm not sure if it's an every week occurrence or not. The weeknights are very quiet though and relaxing.

Overall this is one of the best places I've stayed at anywhere and the next time I'm in Mammoth, I will definitely be booking this same hotel.

Room Tip: If you have kids, I would spend extra for the 2 bedroom. It's not that much more and worth all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind and thorough review of The Village Lodge! I am thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time at The Village Lodge. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of many of our amenities and location. The Village does house live bands on many of the big weekends here in Mammoth Lakes, but I’m glad that you were also able to experience the serene relaxation that midweek has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to your “home away from home” again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay. Our room was really an apartment: bedroom with kingsize bed, bathroom, living room, terrace and full kitchen. It was well-appointed and very comfortable. Several of the shops, cafes and restaurants were closed - presumably because this is really a ski resort but although that limited our dining options it didn't detract from our enjoyment.

The receptionist was very knowledgeable and helpful - she definitely made sure we made the most of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonandColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of The Village Lodge! I am happy to hear that you were so comfortable in your room and around our property. Our staff definitely know the ins and outs of Mammoth Lakes, and I’m sure she loved sharing her local tips with you! We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My family stayed at the Village Lodge in Mammoth Lakes in May of this year.
It was such a beautiful setting and at this time of year it was so peaceful and quiet. I could perhaps see that this place would be a little noisey in the peak months, but we had a road side apartment and didnt hear a peep from any other guests.
The facilities were great and the apartment was very clean! We could see the odd little thing that could maybe do with some renovation or maintenance, but other than that it was very comfortable. The restaurants were a little pricey, but still good food and plenty of options.
Lovely staff and very helpful. We did say on our booking that it was my dads 60th and our honeymoon (the reason we were on the trip as a family).....but we didnt see any little extras for those occasions which was a little dissapointing.
Overall though i would definitely stay at the Village lodge again.

Room Tip: Make sure to choose a roadside apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmJC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review of The Village Lodge! I am so glad to hear that you had such a relaxing vacation here in beautiful Mammoth Lakes. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff work very hard to keep The Village Lodge looking clean and updated, and it is very rewarding to hear that their hard work has paid off. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom suite. Great pool area, cosy interior, lady at front desk very helpful, beautiful location, lots of choice for dining, nice shops . We had a wonderful stay and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllisonABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of The Village Lodge! I am thrilled to hear that our staff and the condo were so accommodating. The surrounding shops and restaurants are definitely one of the highlights about The Village Lodge, and I am glad that you were able to enjoy them. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,138 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,394 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
430 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Property: The Village Lodge
Address: 1111 Forest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start and end your day in the heart of Mammoth. The Village's luxurious condos are literally atop all the fun. Stay here to be at the center of town, where there's gondola access to the slopes and loads of dining and shopping options. Rated one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 50 Ski Resort Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing