We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family apartments”
Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Village Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family apartments”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a great stay in one of the apartments that are spacious, clean and fully equipped. We had a nice view and the apartments are perfectly located above the small village with direct access to nice restaurants and bars.
We slept with windows open wide as we enjoyed the fresh air and calm surroundings.
Staff was friendly and fast. Apartments were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMSE_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your rave review of your stay at the Village Lodge. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    268
    72
    39
    20
See reviews for
387
232
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A great place to stay. Excellent facilities, great surroundings and very helpful staff. When we got there the booking was not showing hoever they gave us a room and said that they would speak to the booking agents to sort it out. The following morning they confirmed that thebooking was all ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Village Lodge. It is rewarding to know our team helped make your stay fantastic. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

It was only for one night, but we had a vey nice stay. I asked for a room with a view and they accommodate us, we got a room overlooking the snowy mountains. The suite was very clean, spacious, quite comfortable.
The people at the front desk were very polite, a bit dry, usually I find that in resorts like those that they are very enthusiastic and they offer many possibilities to make you stay more enjoyable, but maybe they were having an off day. Overall I recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariarivange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Village Lodge. It is always a joy to hear that our guests enjoy the experience this beautiful hotel has to offer. On behalf of our Front desk staff, I do apologize for any behavior that was less than exceptional and please know this comment has been addressed with our team. We hope you have an opportunity to come back to the incredible and ever changing beauty of Mammoth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Although the hotel offers better accomodation than others around the wider Yosemite area, the stay could have been better. Whilst the condo accomodaation offers fairly good value we were dissapointed with the Pool area and the heat of the rooms. There was an air con unit in the room but it was extremely noisy, once we used all the fans in the room the temperature was better, however i was suprised how uncomfortable the room got at night without using the fans or air con. The pool area was good with two very large hot spa's the down side was there are only 6-8 sunbeds, when there must be 300 people staying at the place. Surely this is easily sorted out. If it was not for these two things the place woud have been better as the village offers a number of restaurants and bars etc and was pleasant to wander around in the evening.

Room Tip: Get a cool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Village Lodge. Guest feedback is very important to helping us understand where we excell and where we can improve.Rest assure that improvements are being made and we hope you join us for an incredible winter season at Mammoth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Firstly let me clarify as conflicting information in previous reviews and from the hotel reservations team and web site. The Village Lodge does NOT have aircon in suites; it does have a mobile aircon unit in the living area, which is totally ineffective as it cannot cool the large area of the living room; and as with all mobile units, its a noisy and temporary compromise solution. Bedrooms (where it's needed most) have NO aircon at all. I appreciate that in winter aircon is not necessary but during in our stay in August, we had warm stuffy bedrooms which does not make for great sleep. We could not leave windows open as outside noise from the resort was loud. The Village Lodge website quotes rooms offer "Individual climate control and A/C", this was also confirmed by the village Tele reservations operate who took our booking. Incorrect!!!

Mammoth lakes is a great town, centred around winer sports and summer mountain activities. A Ski lift is adjacent to the The Village Lodge.

The Hotel is part of a resort with another village owned hotel property and several restaurants, bars, shops and a deli. Whilst primarily a winter resort, it was busy during our stay in August. The central swimming and leisure area, along with the bars, restaurants and shops that make up the resort complex make for a great atmosphere, especially during the evening when burners are lit and outside seating is used and bars come alive. Looking over the resort from my balcony and with the pine trees and distant mountains, we could be in Bavaria.

Our Suite had large rooms and bathroom (2 bedroom) and was spacious, well fitted and although slightly on the worn side, clean and well maintained. Underground parking makes for easy access when driving and unloading the car.

Room Tip: Watch out for late night noise from the resort and stuffy bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OleDunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay at the Village Lodge. We are looking into solutions for the summer time heat, including placing air conditioning units into each room of the condos. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you chose to stay again and see the improvements your comments have helped develop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at The Village Lodge on July 29. It was a great place to stay and we loved strolling around the Village. The room was beautiful and the beds were very comfortable. Our boys throughly enjoyed the pool and hot tub. We will definitely consider this as a place to stay if we are ever in the area again and would reccomend it to anyone considering a place to stay in Mammoth Lakes

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcfielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of the VIllage Lodge. We hope that you can join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in a 1st floor, 2bd/2ba facing the pool in the Grand Sierra tower the 1st wk of August. Service was great. All the negatives other reviewers listed are true: smallish units, noise from the Village bars/restaurants, slow drains, no central AC (bad ventilation in general), tight parking spaces, not enough lounge chairs near pool, etc. BUT, you can't beat the location of this place. It's possible to leave your car in the garage an entire week. Being able to walk to Starbucks and the Village shops/restaurants and having both Mammoth Mountain and Mammoth Town shuttle stops a few steps away was very convenient. It was almost enough to forget the rest of the lodges shortcomings...almost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erock901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at the Village Lodge. We are looking at solutions to the problems our guests comment on. There are resolutions in the works and we hope that you join us again to see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,109 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,348 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
424 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Property: The Village Lodge
Address: 1111 Forest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start and end your day in the heart of Mammoth. The Village's luxurious condos are literally atop all the fun. Stay here to be at the center of town, where there's gondola access to the slopes and loads of dining and shopping options. Rated one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 50 Ski Resort Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing