We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value. Fabulous location.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mammoth Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Twin Lakes Campground
Reviewed August 5, 2009

This is probably the best campground in Mammoth Lakes. Located a short drive north of the Village, the campground is nestled next to Tamarack on the lake. Tamarack has a restaurant, bar, bike rentals and cabins.

Twin Lakes has a convenience store, showers ($4.00 per shower) and plenty of flush toilets and running water basins. These bathrooms were spotless. Bear lockers are at each campsite and must be used. This is "bear country".

All campsites have fire pits and picnic tables and large evergreens and shade. This is a great place for campers, trailers and tents. Bring wash tubs for your dishes. Running water is available but no sinks.

The Mammoth Trolley makes frequent stops to the campsite and has bike racks too. And it's free!

Reservation tip: www.Recreation.gov. If you are unable to get a reservation, keep checking back, frequently, and you will more than likely find your dates. People often cancel but inventory does not last long. I recommend checking back hourly.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank PLRamirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 43 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2009

We love Twin Lakes.... there is something to do for everyone! We bike around the campground, or the guys can go to the mountain. We kayak on all the lakes, early morning before the afternoon winds come up (but not bad). The camp sites are clean and comfortable.... easy access to bathrooms and showers. Lots of interest sites that are nice drives. We will go every year... our 14 month old Grandson had a blast!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mtndewey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

One of my favorite places to camp is Twin Lakes Campground in Mammoth Lakes, CA. The campground is great & there is so much to do in the town of Mammoth.

Twin Lakes Campground is right on Twin Lakes. There is no hook ups, but very clean restrooms & the general store at the campground has clean showers. The campsites are spacious. Great for big families. A lot of campsites have a view of the lake or the Waterfall. The lake has great trout fishing & you can rent a row boat from the general store. There are great hiking trails right off the campground that give you excellent views of the Mammoth area.

What I like about Twin Lakes too is it's location. It's a few miles away from the city of Mammoth, so you have that great mountain setting. Up the road is Lake Mary, where you can take your motored boat or rent one too. All of the vicinity of Mammoth has so much to do. Mammoth is not that far away from Mono Lake & Lee Vining, the gateway to Yosemite. You can easily make a day trip Yosemite. We always like to go spend the day at Tenaya Lake. Makes a great day trip.

I will say watch out for them bears when camping. They are out in about if you have food left out. They are pretty mild mannered & interesting to watch, but definately wouldn't want to come in too close promixmity of them.

22  Thank natashag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Exposition Est pour le lever du soleil, l'exposition Ouest pour le coucher ne sert a rien car le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Martinreisgraag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elfrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: das muss man selbst entscheiden. Die Romantik ist hinten im 2ten Teil größer. Angeln kann man besser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lomilomi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
8.7 mi away
Convict Lake Resort
Convict Lake Resort
#3 of 55 in Mammoth Lakes
101 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Tamarack Lodge and Resort
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
415 reviews
1.1 mi away
Juniper Springs Resort
Juniper Springs Resort
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
862 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Lakes Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Lakes Campground

Address: Inyo National Forest, Mammoth Lakes Basin, Mammoth Lakes, CA
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Mammoth Lakes
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twin Lakes Campground is located in the eastern Sierra Nevada Mountains near the town of Mammoth Lakes, California. It offers lakeside camping with breathtaking scenery and many outdoor activities. The lake is a great base for fishing, boating, viewing waterfalls and hiking, and offers close proximity to the town's amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Twin Lakes Campground Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing