We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Bakery in Mammoth Lakes”

Shea Schat's Bakery
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
5,363 reviews
1,600 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,725 helpful votes
“Good Bakery in Mammoth Lakes”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a favorite bakery to stop at. The bread (to go with the trout that we catch) is just perfect. We like the Sheepherder and the onion bread a lot.

They also have a good variety of cookies and pastries. There is a small cafe as well - good if you want a bowl of warm soup on a cool day. Good service.

We have stopped here often when in the Mammoth Lakes area.

There is parking by the bakery..

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    144
    51
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California, United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Very cute place - 'must visit' for Mammoth visitors!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This place is a classic and the baked goods are exquisite. It's a 'dangerous' place to go if you're on a diet because there are too many temptations. Be aware that it's always crowded in the morning, esp on weekends, and you may have to wait in line for awhile but it's worth the wait. They have little tables outside or you can take it with you - either way, fantastic place to visit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
155 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful fresh baked everythings!!!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We love to stop here for "treats" when we visit the Mammoth area. Sure, it's expensive bakery goods, but SO good, LOVE the Florentine cookies, my favorite, huge bear claw rings, the softest and tastiest breads, you just gotta try at least once.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robtzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must go! ”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

If you love pastries this is a must for your trip to Mammoth Lakes. An amazing array of delicious delicacies. My only complaint is that the clerks don't speak much English and so be very specific in pointing out your selection.

Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Must Go - Mammoth Classic”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just back from Mammoth & a carful ( well at least a bag) of goodies & breads from Schat's for the folks at home.
This local institution - also a big presence in Bishop down the hill - bakes & sells wonderful pastries, chewy savory or sweet breads and preps sandwiches for the trail or your rented condo.
I had the biggest croissant of my life that also managed to be soft and tasty, no small accomplishment, for breakfast that fueled a big hike just fine @ 10,000 feet and 5 miles! Also try the honey they carry from Independence in the Eastern Sierra. Great, fun, dangerous place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ringdiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shea Schat's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Shea Schat's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing