We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These sandwiches! Real turkey, real roast beef! Pastries - yum!”

Shea Schat's Bakery
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“These sandwiches! Real turkey, real roast beef! Pastries - yum!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

on choice of breads or rolls, made at your direction with what you want on them. Nice selection of salad items, fruit, a case offering milk cartons for feeding children, and many outstanding bakery items to take out or have a late afternoon pastry and coffee.
You have to wait - the only downside here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank patriciaroseogden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    152
    53
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great selection but come early”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Good selection of bread and pastries, attached cafe looks good but we didn't try it. Run out of many lines by noon. Gelato icre creams are more liike sorbet.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmond, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great donuts, dirty, indifferent”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I have made a tradition of going to Schat's for a donut/coffee after she fishes and I ride my bike, every summer for the last X years--we sit outside, enjoy our food. Donuts are great, coffee is acceptable, but the place is dirty and this summer we finally said, "we're done with Schat's"--no sense of customer service, cleanliness. The outside area is a pit, no one cares for it. If I was Steve Jobs I would call this place SHI...you know the rest. Instead, we now go to Safeway and buy donuts and get a coffee at the Starbucks in the market. Too bad, so much potential, lousy management.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephentown, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good place for a sandwich”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We went to both Shea's and Erik's (in Bishop) during our trip. We stopped at Shea's as we were leaving to go hiking for the day. The sandwiches we got were all fantastic. The bakery portion was not as impressive at Shea's, but the food was just as good!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Real Bakery - Yum”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

They have all of the traditional, wonderful bakery items, rolls, breads, muffins, and even candy. In the back they make sandwiches too. There is another Schat's in Bishop, CA.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CanonMinolta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shea Schat's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Shea Schat's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing