We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant Surprise in a resort town”

Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina
Ranked #22 of 90 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Valencia, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise in a resort town”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the food. The tamales were delicious. We actually returned a second time so I could have the tamales again.

If available, request a table on the outdoor patio.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hey thanks so much for visiting and your kind words on the Tamales. Rosa is a "specialist" in our kitchen who does nothing else for us but hand-prepare Masa and make our tamales. They run to the "authentic/traditional" side of our menu in terms of taste with many fine reviews. Should we ever get a chance to tempt you to return, consider one of our "Chimales" when your off your diet! We take our regular tamale and run it through our fryer and then add a couple of unique sauces. A special fusion spin on our traditional item. Super yummy if you've burnt a few calories on the mountain... Safe Travels! Salud!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    162
    83
    41
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mixed thoughts ”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I should preface my review by noting I'm a hard audience when it comes to Mexican food. So I actually didn't have high expectations. I was greeted by a nice kid who found me an excellent outside table on a beautiful day. A lot was going on in the area, so I wasn't sure I could get a good table. But once seated, I waited longer than usual to be greeted by my server. The chips and salsa, which I had to ask for, we're okay - pretty mediocre. The salsa was homemade but a bit bland. I like a little bite to my salsa. But it did have a nice combo of veggies. I ordered a Chile relleno and a chicken enchilada. The relleno was fabulous with some sautéed onions and tomatoes on top of an egg-battered, cheese-stuffed poblano pepper. The enchilada was okay but nothing special. Although the black beans were a bit undercooked and the rice okay, I'd recommend the place for its nice atmosphere and decent food. And if you are a fan of a great chili relleno, order two of those. They are spectacular. (By the way, I'm still waiting for a refill on water and my bill - I haven't seen my server since she brought my food.)

Helpful?
Thank Leslie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Leslie, Thank-you for your thoughtful and graceful review as well as your noted pre-qualifier. It is hard to meet everyones expectations as tastes vary, but, your review approach will always get a caring operator to take notice. Fair observations and criticisms are important to benefit from. So, we will take your comments to heart and continue to make improvements. Oh, thanks for the shout out on the Relleno as we take a lot of pride in those! Hope your visit to Mammoth/Yosemite was wonderful. Perhaps we can tempt you to return to our little paradise again sometime in the future. Safe travels. Salud!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Nice eating area outside (great atmosphere, play area for children), a lot of choice on the menu and turned out delicious

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllisonABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your experience. Our mild summer evenings up here are just great, especially after sunset with just a mild breeze. Looks like you traveled a great deal to visit Mammoth/Yosemite and everyone here greatly appreciates it. Safe travels. Salud!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Take Out was Easy”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We ordered take out by phone. The food was hot, fresh, and plenty of it. It was a little pricey but when you see its location you know their rent can't be cheap. It has a great atmosphere and friendly staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Billyjoe52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thanks so much! We can't always do take-out during the super busy season, but prefer to whenever we can. Always try to keep our portions robust and are thrilled that you gave us a try! Hope your travels can drag you back up to Mammoth sometime soon. Salud!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Mexican Food!!!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This review is a bit late... We visited Mammoth in Dec 2012. After a day on the slopes we had dinner at Gomez's. The service was friendly. The margaritas were fantastic and the food was awesome. We walked in at dusk and immediately felt warmed by the atmosphere. When we left the Village looked lovely with all the fairy lights lit up. This restaurant is a great place in a great location.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Narelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hey now, thanks so much for your kind words! Hope you can get back over to Mammoth again soon... Brisbane isn't exactly next door so we appreciate very much your making the trip. Safe and continued travels. Salud!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing