We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Drinks!”

Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina
Ranked #26 of 90 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I'm from Texas. The food there is authentic and tastes great! The margaritas are done just right. The chips and salsa were really good too. There is no coat check, but the place actually has enough space where you don't feel like you're sitting at someone else's table. Service was a little slow, but better than most other places.

Thank LHABtrombone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

LHA, Some really nice thoughts from Texas! Thanks a bunch. No doubt you experienced the Christmas Crush that we get in Mammoth. Craziest two weeks of the year so we really hustle. So glad you had a good experience. We prep a lot of items here at 8000 feet so that our food is fresh and tastes great so we really appreciate it when people notice. Hope your travels bring you back... btw, summer is amazing too. Just sayin....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 339 of 459 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Love the food! Usually super busy, so the service isn't always fast, but the chips and salsa make up for it. Good bar!

Thank Trayce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Trayce, thanks for the review. Yea, the week of Christmas & New Years is an absolute crush so we really have to hustle to keep up. Thanks for understanding! And, btw, we make that salsa and prep the chips here fresh. Nothing prepackaged! So glad you enjoy them. We'll have great snow all winter, hope you can make it up again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I have to say.. Gomez's have the largest Margaritas I've ever seen.. except for a place I visit in Las Vegas.

Their chips and salsa were excellant with the drinks. They seemed to compliment each other very well..lol

I ordered a burrito.. and, yes.. it was also Mammoth! I could not finish my dinner. And, it was well worth the money.

As for service.. not bad.. What I did notice was that they had only one server for a handful of customers. Service therefore was a bit slower than I expected.. but, that was ok.. we weren't in a hurry. It seemed that most people were there for the Happy Hour and fortunately we also had a discount on our drinks.

I would revisit Gomez's Mesican Restaurant & Cantina and recommend you stop in and experience it for yourself. I did love the Margaritas, chips, and salsa!

Thank CZeyha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thanks for your thoughtful review. We work especially hard on the Mammoth Margarita. It is something we make from scratch using several different ingredients and 100% Blue Webber Reposado Tequila which is unusual in our industry. Most restaurants have a "house" margarita that is the cheapest they can make it in hopes that customers won't notice. We just don't do that. Anyway, thanks for the note and hope your travels bring you back to our neck-of-the-woods again soon.... best wishes, Team Gomez's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great Mexican food and margarita's. Walked from our Condo at Mammoth Estates to this Restaurant in the Village

Thank Carrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Carrie G, Really appreciated your taking the time to check in and drop us a note. So happy you had a great experience. Our Mammoth Margarita Blend is a special family recipe we make from scratch using several different ingredients and high quality 100% Blue Webber Reposado Tequila! No headaches here! Best wishes from the Gomez's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Nice, friendly place to visit when in Mammoth. A little pricey for lunch, good for special occasions and dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Janice K, Looks like maybe you got up here for opening weekend! So great to have early snow and a kick-off to the 2012/2013 season. Thanks very much for stopping by Gomez's. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing