We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst margaritas ever.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina

Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina
Ranked #24 of 90 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst margaritas ever.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Food: expensive and just ok.
Ambience: madhouse.
Service: they really do try.
Drinks: worst margaritas EVER (it doesn't matter which one you order..."Skinny" "Classica" they use the same god awful mix and top it off with a "passed it's peak" slice of an old old lime.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimsterdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
jimsterdotcom, We completely understand that individual tastes vary. So sorry we could not please you with our margaritas. What we will say is that nothing comes out of a pre-mix. Our house margarita recipe has been in the family for generations. Many customers enjoy it so much that we make it in large batches using seven different ingredients and top shelf 100% agave Reposado Tequila. Probably one of our most popular items. That said, it was a miss for you and that is all that matters for sure. As for the lime, that sounds like a oops. Thanks for the heads up. Should we get the chance to see you again, let's mix something up at the bar together! We've got organic agave nectar, fresh lime juice and over 320 bottles of tequila to choose from to get a little nutty! All the best...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    158
    81
    40
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We eat here every time we come to Mammoth and enjoy it! It is good quality food with a great menu selection. They also have a nice patio for outside dining. Worth a try!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jlong3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Jlong3, So glad you had a great time and thanks for being one of our regulars! Hope the summer has been as special for you as it has for us up here. We've had mild temperatures and relaxing summer rain (just enough to keep the dust down) most of this month. Hope to see you again when the snow falls!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gourmet Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

An elevation of the traditional menu with excellent new presentations - well prepared and with imagination. Room was spacious, service was excellent - all, a great and pleasant surprise. All six of us would gladly go again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Go_USC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Go_USC... Trojans! :) You were very kind... we really do try hard and love it when our guests have a great time all around... Sure hope your stay in the beautiful eastern sierras was fun all around and that you'll be back up here at 8,000 feet soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“good mexican food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

this is good mexican food!! it feels like a regular mexican restuarant but more upscale! very good tacos and quesadillas! very good and want to go back more!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paige F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
PaigeF... thanks a bunch for taking the time to post! So happy you had a good time at Gomez's and Mammoth Lakes as well. Don't know if you come up in the winter as well, but we will be hoping for great snow and an early open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Bland and overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The title says it all. If you're from SoCal avoid this place for the food. Service seemed sincere, but the menu lacks any enthusiasm. I had my first ever cold vegetarian burrito. I had to send it back and replaced it enchiladas.

They do however have Negro Modelo on tap. If you're there to drink it up, they appear to have a solid collection of drinks, including many Tequillas.

Closes by 9 something during the week.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scapegoat51b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Scapeboat512b, so sorry that you didn't enjoy the food. Many of the recipes have been around for decades with guests coming back year-over-year to enjoy them. That said, we completely understand that there are few things more personal than individual taste and only hope that if you give us a chance again you will try one of our signature tacos or perhaps something new and unusual like our portabella & spinach enchiladas in coconut cream sauce...:) All the best, and thanks for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing