We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend skiing trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mammoth Mountain

Mammoth Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A variety of late spring and early summer terrain is available for first-time beginners and double diamond pursuers.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Weekend skiing trip”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Prices for lift tickets are steep, but there are plenty of runs to choose from. Trail maps are easy to navigate. Staff are friendly and keep the lifts moving efficiently. The weather conditions are something that the resort can't control. The first time I went in December 2012, there was plenty of fresh powder to enjoy at all hours. However, based upon this year's lack of fresh snow, I would recommend getting there early before the snow is turned to slush by the heat by late afternoon. Oh, and food is greatly overpriced, bring a sack lunch or take a lunch break in your condo (the free bus system is very convenient if staying close by.)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    168
    20
    16
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“fab ski resort”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Spent a ski weekend here for hubby's birthday.
Keep in mind I'm a solid intermediate (blues and non-mogul blacks) and hubby is a mogul boy.
Tough snow year but regardless wear your rock skis because there are a lot of runs open that probably shouldn't be.
Very friendly staff, people everywhere wanting to help, more so than any Tahoe resort I've been to.
Wide open and beautiful resort, fun views of Yosemite from the top.
Nice for an intermediate skier to feel comfortable to ski to the summit and find a reasonable way down.
Good bumps for hubby and nice carvers but again many run with multiple unmarked rocks which beat up on our new skis!
Lots of food options, the expected 20 bucks each for lunch, but variety was great, I recommend the waffles, hubby had pho which is the first I've ever seen this at a resort!
Overall super fun and we will come again!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
251 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“As Good Of An Experience As You Will Get Anywhere”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is my 35th season at Mammoth. The skiing has always been outstanding and the vision of the MCcoy family and now with intrawest and Rusty Gregory, It has continued to evolve and be forward thinking and has developed into what I believe to be the premiere destination resort. I have skied all over the US and you will never find a better experience anywhere. This year has been no exception. Even with the lack of snow, Mammoth has been creative in offering a great experience. Why go anywhere else? Mammoth has it all!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrisgolfpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good Snow, but Mountain needs some LOVE”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Went the second weekend in February, and it was a blizzard. Been coming to this mountain for 44 years, and it really needs some loving. Also, went in November and December, and they could really use about 10 feet of snow. Due to an injury, I stay around 11 now. But, my spouse goes all over the mountain, and even this time I went up 6 and came down St. Moritz. The snow was really good on Sunday and Monday. If you get good snow, it is really worth it. They are pretty good about keeping the line moving, but it would help if they would have someone to direct the people to stand somewhere other than right at the front of the line entrance while they wait for people, chit chat or talk on the phone. The lift employees are always friendly and fun. I also like the fact that 11 is a really good beginner area to take people who have not ever skied before and they will not have to worry around getting run over by experts. Eating and staying at the mountain is expensive. Plus, this is a town where the majority of the places do not have all around good food on their entire menu. So, if you want to save money, bring your own food.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“needs a new management”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband and I, with a group of friends, have been going to Mammoth Mountain to ski for more than15years now. We have always had fun on the ski slopes and enjoy the beautiful scenery of the mountain. However, this year, driving on 395 on our way to the resort, I was schocked to see the numerous abandoned building structures looking so shabby, scary, and outright disgusting. On top of that Kern County makes you drive through these poverty stricken, third world looking areas with 25-30 miles per hour that makes things even worse (try driving through Johanesburg, for example) No wonder that so many drivers are given speeding thickets-I guess, they are just trying to speed away from that area. Anyway, as the previous reviewers, I find the everincreasing daily ticket price up to $100 now, unbearable. For that much money you should have groomed all the ski slopes-3 and 5, my favorite ones, and you did not. One bottle of beer $10 now?! I found out that they don't weight the salad so it is the cheapest meal you can get there (The Mills). Bottom line is that the resort is going down the hill-ungroomed ski slopes; unjustifiably high ticket prices with no good discounts; destruction and poverty stricken areas around the resort; drinks and food prices through the roof; speeding tickets, not much to do inside the Mammoth Lakes town.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Draxy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mammoth Mountain also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Mammoth Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing