We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They did everything right!”

Petras Wine Bar and Bistro
Ranked #15 of 90 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Merced, California
Level Contributor
269 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“They did everything right!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

A friend and I dined at Petra's and were quite impressed. We had the halibut entree and it was simply devine! It was cooked to perfection, moist, tender. The presentation was unique, fresh greens used for decoration piled on top of mashed poatoes. Portion size was just right. If you want salad and desert you have to pay extra. Coffee was great. Desert was tasty, not too sweet, just right. Wine was expensive, and really small portioned. Service was attentive and friendly. The restaurant is expensive, but you get what you pay for, and our meal was worth it. This was definitely a wonderful treat!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cali4niahiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    47
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food and knowledgable wait staff”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was the best restaurant we ate at in Mammoth Lakes. The food was fresh and different. I had the spaghetti polonaise. Very tasty, although, a little sweet. Great wine list.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tfaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummmmm....”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We sat at the bar and enjoyed fantastic service. From the very first sip of wine and nibble of cheese through to the scrumptious dessert, we loved every bite! Amazing selection of wine and a knowledgeable staff made for a fabulous evening.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mamthgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tried to dine there; cold shoulder b/c of kids??”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Have been there a few times during ski trips and it has always been great. We came to town and showed up early (prior to 6) with a virtually empty restaurant and were given the cold shoulder. We do have kids but they eat out often and are well behaved. My guess is that the lack of a rez and the young kids scared them away from us as guests (hostess chatted with a server before telling us that they wouldn't be able to turn the tables again . . .!?!?!?). We left and then were told that we could sit in the bar if we wanted . . . not too inviting. Disappointed in how we were treated. I know we didn't have a rez, but it was very empty, early, and the 'excuse' seemed insincere.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best food I have had at Mammoth”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We went to Petra's because of the great reviews on trip advisor. I am so glad we went. The food was fabulous. We had a fish special with a thai chili sauce that was out of theirs world and the service was top notch. Jonathan was our waiter and he was attentive and friendly. The wine list is diverse and broad I highly recommend Petra's

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDBMWLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petras Wine Bar and Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Petras Wine Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing