We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pet friendly, easy access to your door, great neighborhood!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Cliff Resort

Pine Cliff Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mammoth Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Cliff Resort
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pet friendly, easy access to your door, great neighborhood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

If you want to feel at home with your dogs, with a convenient place to stage your adventures in the mountains, this is the perfect place to stay. It's located on a dead-end street, in a friendly neighborhood. Traci Walker is the on-site owner & always offers extra towels or advice on day trips. Twyla Twinklestar is Traci's freewheeling little dog who is not afraid of bears and never has a bad day. We stay here to ski or mountain bike and have always appreciated the cabin's kitchen, wi fi, tv, privacy, and the laid back vibe. It's more rustic than the condos in town, but you will have a more local and insider experience than you would have at most other places. If you don't mind unpaved driveways, open windows to the cool breeze, wandering dogs in the neighborhood, and cold drinks on ice... then this is your kind of place. If you prefer something more paved and formal, then this will not be your cup of tea.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dogs2fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Just the get - away I needed for a birthday retreat .... Such beautiful everywhere. My friend & I stayed in cabin #3 ... by far the best ... upstairs & downstairs w/ full kitchen, a fireplace, tv w/ vcr, and a heater.

We didn't bring a dog, but I can see how any dog would love that area. So many trees for all.
Traci, the owner, is a sweetheart and a nature lover. A free spirited soul who cares about everyone.

If you can get reservations, I highly recommend this small but quaint property tucked away from the city lights and noise. I will return (hopefully sooner than later).

Room Tip: Call in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thegodfauther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

From reading other reviews, I think people are confusing two different Pine Cliff resorts. One is a camp ground, the other is a group of free standing cabins. Tracy, the owner of the cabins located in Mammoth off of Old Mammoth road is very nice. There is a very homey feeling about her and her cabins. It is not fancy. It is more like staying with a relative who doesn't have a lot of money. The word resort is a misnomer. It should be called PineCliff dog haven. The rooms are clean, and decorated in early garage sale, and that contributes to the homey feeling. If you want a nice place with all the amenities (i.e. soap) to stay with your dog, go to Edelweiss where you will pay more.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DoggieLosAngeles_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2008

We were looking for a low-budget place to stay with our dog in Mammoth, and we originally booked the Motel 6. But when we found out that you're not allowed to leave your dog unattended we started looking for an alternative. I found out about the Pine Cliff Resort, and it was just what we needed.

It's kind of funny that the name of the property includes the word "resort". It's definitely not a resort per se, but for the money it's a very good option.

We were in cabin #5 for $105 per night. Normally, that rate is for weekdays, and weekends are $120 per night. But because we booked at the last minute, Tracy, the owner gave us a deal.

It's a one-bedroom cabin with a kitchen, and it's rather cute. Rustic, and lacking some little touches, but cute and comfy.

Things I liked: great price, full size fridge in the kitchen, TV and DVD player in the living room, friendly owner.

However, you should know that it doesn't provide everything a motel or condo would. You don't have someone at the front desk 24/7 should you need something. No shampoo/conditioner provided. (Actually, we didn't even have bar soap provided in the shower.) The maintenance was a little lacking...our front porch light didn't work, nor did our heat light in the bathroom. Oh, and the remote control for the TV wasn't working. Probably dead batteries.

One last thing to note is that the owner does not take credit cards. Just cash and checks.

  • Liked — Value-priced
  • Disliked — Spiders
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank LosAngelesTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.7 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
1.6 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliff Resort

Property: Pine Cliff Resort
Address: 150 woodman, Post Office Box 2, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Pine Cliff Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing